Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Oh my goodness. A half-slice of this pie will 100% satisfy the most intense chocolate craving. I froze this pie in individual slices so I would be less likely to over indulge. No need to defrost, it's a great consistency straight out of the freezer. I plan to experiment with alternate crusts as the cookie one I purchased did not hold up to the amazing filling. A small dollop of slightly sweetened whipped cream and a strawberry or two would compliment the richness of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Everytime I make this its a huge HIT!! I make it a day or two in advance and by the time we are ready to eat it, So great!! Its very rich so a small piece is just enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCC12

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
used 1 cup chocolate chips. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made this for Christmas dessert. I realized late xmas eve I was out of vanilla so I had to omit it, then I added a couple of tablespoons of brewed espresso. I also added a bit more sugar. We loved the consistancy, very chocolate mousse like. Everyone raved. This is soooo easy and good, a keeper. Next time I will add the vanilla but I will also add the espresso again, I think it adds a nice touch. Make sure the chocolate is cool and don't be afraid to beat it on high when adding the chocolate to the whipped cream. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Very easy to make, I like sweet, but this was too much. I agree, it came out fudgy not fluffy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
So good! This is very dense and creamy at the same time. Became the favorite pie (out of several) at our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taputah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Clearly, something didn't work out. It was closer to fudge than a mousse. My chocoholic wife enjoyed it, but she's happy with dark chocolate chocolate chips. I think if I had folded the whipped cream in with the chocolate mixture, it probably wouldn't have killed the fluff. Still just tastes like melted semi-sweet chocolate to me. Re-review: I can admit when I made a mistake. Make sure the chocolate mixture is completel cool. When you think it's been long enough, wait a little longer. If the chocolate mixture is warm at all, it will turn the whipped cream into liquid, and you will get fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I only got one slice!my 4 yr old "helped" me make it, and it was nice being able to let her lick the leftover filling. I am not sure what I did wrong but it was a bit too hard to cut, it fell apart but still tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hinda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Casablanca, Greater Casablanca, Morocco
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This pie is scrumptious, but you cannot eat too much of it...I would say it is more than 8 servings...other than that I would not change anything. I did use very good chocolate in the recipe and it was loved by everyone that tried it. Easy easy easy and delicious...what more can one ask for??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBYHAB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Very easy to make. I only had 1 1/2 hours to chill so I put the homemade oreo crust in the freezer while I prepared the filling. I put the melted filling that I had microwaved in a glass bowl into a larger bowl filled with ice and kept stiring it every few minutes to cool the chocolate down as quickly as possible. After I filled the pie, I put it in the freezer for about an hour. It was PERFECT! Not frozen and just the right consistantcy. I did add orange extract instead of vanilla and my dinner guest really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CTMOMOF9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States