Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LUCYFROG
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Made this yesterday for Canadian Thanksgiving. It was, by far, one of the best pies I've ever had. A one inch slice was plenty for most as it's fantastically rich. Ten stars for this recipe. I made this exactly as directed, including taking notes from the reviews, such as ensuring the chocolate has cooled before adding to the whipped cream so it doesn't deflate, and only adding one third of the chocolate at a time, etc. While making it I was worried I had done something wrong as recipe says "spoon into crust" and mine could be poured. As well it didn't look as fluffy as the featured photo by "Tricia Winterle Jaeger" (I've added a photo of mine). Just now I viewed the "watch how to make it" video by Allrecipes and they pour the chocolate into the crust rather than spooning it, so do keep this in mind if you, too, are able to pour yours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCYFROG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I've made this multiple times - it's extremely easy and always a huge hit. I've made it with both semisweet and bittersweet chocolate and both work great. If you want to make your own crust, I put 18 or so Oreos in a food processor until finely ground then mix with 1/4 cup melted unsalted butter, press into the bottom of the pan and bake at 350 for 5 minutes. Once it cools I add the pie filling and chill. Yesterday I made it as little mini pies (in a mini cheesecake pan) - it chilled very fast and - as usual - was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I had a beautiful whipped cream, and the second I added the chocolate mixture - just a small amount - it deflated and became soup. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
When using whipped cream in a recipe you fold the whipped cream into the mixture in order to leave the finished product light and fluffy. Sweetness or too much sugar is just a persons preference, I would have tasted the whipped cream while beating to see if it really need 1/4th cup. Also that is WAY TOO MUCH Vanilla. Most recipes like an entire cake usually call for 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Never seen a recipe to one tablespoon for 1 pie............ type error????? Suggestion when whipping the cream the cut the amount of sugar back to 1/4th cup. Do not beat the whipped cream into the recipe, gently fold it in the mixture. Also make sure you add only 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Kids thought this was great! Light and fluffy but a bit sweet for me. Will try with dark chocolate chips next time. Best to make a full day ahead of serving so the pie fully sets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
excellent and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was very light and Fluffy and wonderful rich dark Chocolaty. We will definitely be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This pie is just like truffle!!! Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
EASY to make and so thick and delicious. I took it to Pi Day at work and it won second place! (Only because I brought in another Chocolate Mousse Pie I made and they split the chocolate vote! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Very rich, very chocolate. Adding a top layer of whipped cream or better some kind of Devonshire cream provides enough contrast to the intense chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andriy Moraru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States