Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2000
Easy Recipe to follow and make. I thought I could cheat and not let it chill for as long as the directions said...WRONG!!!! The flavor wasn't as intense as when it had chilled the 8 hours!!!! Delicious pie~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Also excellent as mini-truffle tarts! I made a cookie crust using 80 crushed vanilla wafers and 12TB melted butter and pressed that by spoonfuls into mini-muffin tins, baked it for 12 minutes, then filled with pie filling when crust had cooled. Delicious appetizer for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This was crazy easy and just as good! I don't understand some reviews that criticize the intense chocolate flavor. Did they read the ingredients? I accidently used 1/3 cup of sugar rather than the 1/4 called for and I could have handled the lesser sugar (I'll be more careful next time). My store was out of chocolate cookie crusts, so I used a pre-made shortbread crust and I loved the contrast. I topped the whole pie with Easy Devonshire Cream from this site and shaved chocolate. My only problem is that I at the last piece last night and I don't have enough cream to make another right now ;). Thank you for my new "Go-To" chocolate fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimosa ain't no PRO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Wow was this good! An instant hit! Just be sure to add the chocolate batter ine third at a time or it wont turn out fluffy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Wowsers! What a hit these were! I made as mini truffle pies (used the vanilla wafer crust in a mini muffin tin...bake at about 350 for 5-8 minutes...don't burn them! 1 box of wafers made 30 tarts) I used wilton icing tip 1M to fill these little babies. They were decadent and gorgeous! I will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
if you like a semi-sweet chocolate chip then you will love this. I personally prefer my chocolate a little sweeter. I made the mistake of using plain whipping cream (not heavy) and thought it was going to be like soup, but once chilled it was very puddingy. I put it in a shortbread pre-made crust and topped it with whip cream to cut the chocolate a bit. I also added about 1-2 tablespoons more sugar. It was great! I think I may try it next time with milk chocolate chips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Delicious! I've made this twice now, to rave reviews. I made the following adaptations: I used a cheesecake pan and made an orange milano cookie crust. I made one layer with dark chocolate, let it chill for an hour and added another layer using milk chocolate. (used full recipe for each layer, only didn't add sugar to the milk chocolate layer). Chilled overnight and topped with whipped cream. Amazing. Tastes like a truffle! I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was so good, for sure I'll make it again. One tip, do not add more sugar. While mixing I added more sugar (it tasted bitter) to make it sweeter and WOW. It was sweet. Just follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I made this at Thanksgiving, and it stayed around longer than the other two pies I made. It was good, but not great. It tasted exactly like what it is, melted chocolate chips in whipped cream. There is no depth of flavor. Would be fine as a single layer in a layered chocolate pie, but doesn't stand alone well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was good, perfect texture for a truffle pie, but needed to be a little sweeter. It had a real semi-sweet chocolate taste. If I make it again, I'd have to use the milk chocolate chips instead. This might be perfect using the mint chocolate chips.....the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States