Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I have made this pie a few times now, and last night had to be the most challenging. My toddler wanted to "help" me and was a constant distraction AFTER I made the decision to double the recipe to make two pies. The cream:chocolate ratio was thrown off for one or both pies. One turned out very dark and more silky, the other lighter in color and fluffier... AND THEY WERE BOTH PERFECT. I took them to work for a holiday potluck and everyone thought "I meant to do that!" I have also made it with milk chocolate chips, and it's wonderful. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Delicious and very easy to make. Used a crust made of crushed Oreos and melted butter. Topped with Cool Whip. My family (chocoholics) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My3Boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Excellent! Followed the recipe except added a Tbsp. of strong coffee to bring out the chocolate flavor. I added fresh cream to the top as a garnish and it was loved by everyone at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuttle, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Rich tasting and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Loved this pie! I was very happy when there was one piece left so I could hoard it all for myself ;) I followed some reviewer's suggestions and used half milk chocolate chips and half semi-sweet. I also waited a long time for the chocolate mixture to cool before adding in the whipped ingredients. I did use a pre-made chocoalte cookie pie crust and the filling was the perfect amount to make it a super high pie. After making this pie for the first time a week ago (Thansgiving) I will not be changing anything that I did. It turned out PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLEURDELISAHOLIC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Made this several times. Great, quick easy recipes with good results. Some tips that may help... If too rich, try using either a nicer chocolate than chips like ghiradeli or other gourmet chocolate. Cheaper option is half choc chips and half milk choc chips. If the melted chocolate mix is too hot, it will deflate the whipped cream. Easier yet, mix it all and chill in a bowl. Once it starts to cool, mix it with your beaters. It will make it light and fluffy. You know it has cooled enough when the mix turns into a lighter color when whipped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was a very dense, awfully, rich dessert that needed to be lightened up alot. It was ganache in a pie. Won't make it again until I can figure out how to make it a little lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
The photo -- which I usually rely on -- didn't match the result, and I followed the recipe. It was dense, not fluffy. Super sweet. Didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is an awesome pie. Simple and fluffy. The others that said it isn't fluffy just didn't do it correctly. I whipped my cream a little stiffer and waited until the chocolate mixture was cool enough, mixed on low and wa la, perfect pie. It does need to be served as a small slice (no matter how they look at you), (they think you are being stingy) but, they understand as they eat it -RICH !!!!!!!!! One pie goes a looonnngggg way. I also used a crust made with chopped pecans, butter and almond flour....very good for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Superb! This pie is essentially chocolate mousse in an oreo crust. Simple, easy, and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellarcook368

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States