Rich Chocolate Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by APN Sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I made a shortbread tart crust to go with this and it was amazing...and very easy. I will make this again...for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kyndadf
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was a favorite at the party I made them for. I made the tarts into tartlettes, topped with fresh whipped cream, and garnished with a fresh raspberry. The filling was wonderfully rich and smooth. I will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyndadf
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I made this because I had some extra puff pastry and a lot of extra cream - I made it as written and it is delicious and so simple to make. The texture of the chocolate filling is so silky and delicious. I really recommend using the puff pastry as the recipe indicates - it is so flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I need to try this again. It didn't set and just kind of oozed onto the plate. While reading the other reviews I have decided I must have done something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Well, it seems that no one who has reviewed this recipe so far has actually made it as stated. I did. I chose this recipe because I had a sheet of puff pastry to use up. The only change I made was the size of the tart pan - mine was 11". To weight the pastry down, I used a 10" round cake pan and put a baking dish inside. I made the filling exactly as stated and it's delicious. I did top with homemade whipped cream and puff pastry hearts (made from scraps) with a little melted chocolate drizzled on top. This is a very elegant dessert. Seems a lot of people "fear the puff pastry" when there's no reason. This dessert simply wouldn't be the same in a graham cracker crust, but to each his own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I did a slant on this recipe. I used my own pie crust, divided it into 24 tart tin sections. Pre-baked the tarts.(using the "baking bind" method)Putting them aside to cool. For the filling: I used 2 cups of table cream 18%, 3/4 cup sugar, 2 eggs, 1/3 cup corn starch. Once that cooked over a double boiler(easy tip---> is to use an electric hand mixer set on the slowest setting for the long cook. About 20 minutes, on my stove)until thickened, I added semi-sweet bakers chocolate 4 of the 8 large squares. (approx. 4 oz) Slow beat mixture until all the chocolate was melted thoroughly and glossy.(about 5 minutes)I then pulled the pot off the heat and folded in 1 cup flaked/shredded coconut. Spooned the the whole mixture into the cooled tarts with a small laddle to just below the main rim of each tart. Added a sprinkle of toasted coconut to the top........Placed the tarts in the fridge to set fully and cool completely. Wonderful goodness to my surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fragrant Moss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
So easy! I read the other reviews, and made this tart in individual-sized graham cracker crusts ($1.05 for 6), which cut out all the baking. I also used about a half-teaspoon of orange zest, garnished with a few strands of orange zest curls, and got rave reviews for this Christmas dinner dessert! I highly recommend this for anyone with very little time. It probably took me 5-8 minutes to prep and then just stuck them in the fridge until I served them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This sounds like a wonderful chocolate dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
very nice, I was looking for something to do with my egg yolks from another recipe and it was perfect. I did use a grahm cracker crust instead though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I used a ready made pie crust for this rather than doing the puff pastry thing. It turned out really well. Very rich and decedant! After about 6 hours in the fridge it had set enough to eat but it was much, much better the next day. It's by far the easiest chocolate tart I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States