Rich Chocolate Pumpkin Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
These truffles are delicious and very flavorful. I made them for Christmas and my family loved them. Another review said you have to crumb the wafers in a food processor or blender, but I put them in a plastic bag and smashed them with a glass. It's pretty easy. But you do have to grind the nuts. I used my coffee grinder. I think the recipe is perfect. I usually change recipes, but this one was great as-is. The only difference I found is that it made way less than 4 dozen. They would have to be miniscule to get that many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Wow! These were great! I would suggest letting these refrigerate overnight - it gets rid of the "crumb" texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyheather06

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
These are great and they freeze really well. But I don't dust them before hand if they are going to be frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
We loved these! They have dark chocolate/ cinnamon/ coffee slight bitterness to them, so which I love. I did use my food processor to "crumb" the cookies, and I ground them fairly fine. The comments before regarding the division of the powdered sugar were very helpful. I got 48 truffles out of the recipe and let them refridgerate for several hours before serving. No complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndmidwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
BEWARE!!! The powdered sugar needs to be divided up BEFORE you put it into the mixture. I almost made a huge mistake by putting too much! We made these for a progressive dinner and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I used gingersnaps, walnuts, and pumpkin pie spice instead of vanilla wafers, almonds, and cinnamon. They turned out a bit too chocolately and not enough pumpkin-y for my taste, but have gotten rave reviews. (I'm not the biggest chocolate fan.) Next time I'd substitute some pumpkin for the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I didn't add the chocolate into the recipe, and I added a little vanilla, nutmeg, and ground cloves into the mixture. I refrigerated it overnight and used the chocolate to dip the truffles in to create a more pumpkin flavored center. I also used apple juice instead of the liqueur. They turned out really good. Next time, I will probably just use pumpkin pie spice and a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cupcake Couple

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My coworkers absolutely loved these. I only put in about 1/4 C of Kahlua instead of 1/3. While melting the chocolate I added the Kahlua and pumpkin so it was mixed nicely before adding to the dry mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
These truffles are good... but almost not worth the trouble. What the recipe neglects to say is that a food processor is required. I don't have one, and used a blender. Tedious work to "crumb" the wafers in this manner. Also, the recipe ingredients list should list the powdered sugar twice, as one-half is used in the mix, and 1/4 is used as a dusting. This is not specified clearly enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I would say it is just me, but given the feedback I've gotten...these just aren't good. I've made them as directed, w/ Grand Marnier, & w/ orange juice. These have a granular (yes I ground everything w/ my food processor) quality that I just don't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States