Rich Chocolate Pumpkin Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
We loved these! They have dark chocolate/ cinnamon/ coffee slight bitterness to them, so which I love. I did use my food processor to "crumb" the cookies, and I ground them fairly fine. The comments before regarding the division of the powdered sugar were very helpful. I got 48 truffles out of the recipe and let them refridgerate for several hours before serving. No complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndmidwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
These truffles are delicious and very flavorful. I made them for Christmas and my family loved them. Another review said you have to crumb the wafers in a food processor or blender, but I put them in a plastic bag and smashed them with a glass. It's pretty easy. But you do have to grind the nuts. I used my coffee grinder. I think the recipe is perfect. I usually change recipes, but this one was great as-is. The only difference I found is that it made way less than 4 dozen. They would have to be miniscule to get that many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Wow! These were great! I would suggest letting these refrigerate overnight - it gets rid of the "crumb" texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyheather06

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
These are great and they freeze really well. But I don't dust them before hand if they are going to be frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
BEWARE!!! The powdered sugar needs to be divided up BEFORE you put it into the mixture. I almost made a huge mistake by putting too much! We made these for a progressive dinner and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I used gingersnaps, walnuts, and pumpkin pie spice instead of vanilla wafers, almonds, and cinnamon. They turned out a bit too chocolately and not enough pumpkin-y for my taste, but have gotten rave reviews. (I'm not the biggest chocolate fan.) Next time I'd substitute some pumpkin for the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I didn't add the chocolate into the recipe, and I added a little vanilla, nutmeg, and ground cloves into the mixture. I refrigerated it overnight and used the chocolate to dip the truffles in to create a more pumpkin flavored center. I also used apple juice instead of the liqueur. They turned out really good. Next time, I will probably just use pumpkin pie spice and a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cupcake Couple

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My coworkers absolutely loved these. I only put in about 1/4 C of Kahlua instead of 1/3. While melting the chocolate I added the Kahlua and pumpkin so it was mixed nicely before adding to the dry mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
These truffles are good... but almost not worth the trouble. What the recipe neglects to say is that a food processor is required. I don't have one, and used a blender. Tedious work to "crumb" the wafers in this manner. Also, the recipe ingredients list should list the powdered sugar twice, as one-half is used in the mix, and 1/4 is used as a dusting. This is not specified clearly enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I would say it is just me, but given the feedback I've gotten...these just aren't good. I've made them as directed, w/ Grand Marnier, & w/ orange juice. These have a granular (yes I ground everything w/ my food processor) quality that I just don't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States