Rich Chocolate Pumpkin Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This recipe was not to my liking at all. The version of this recipe that I found actually said to toast the almonds and it said that apple juice could be substituted for the coffee liqueur. With these adaptations, my opinion is this: 1. I could not taste the pumpkin; 2. the almonds were overpowering; and 3. the chocolate was definitely rich (not a compliment). This recipe should be called Rich Chocolate Almond Truffles. Just because there's pumpkin in it, that doesn't mean it should be in the name. The name as it is is misleading. I was really looking forward to having a pumpkin-tasting truffle, and this recipe let me down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Witte Grubbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My coworkers absolutely loved these. I only put in about 1/4 C of Kahlua instead of 1/3. While melting the chocolate I added the Kahlua and pumpkin so it was mixed nicely before adding to the dry mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
A HUGE disappointment. Unless you can pulzerize the almonds into a fine powder, the conisistency will be grainy. But even above and beyond the unappealing texture, they just plain don't taste very good. I follwed the recipe exactly, and all I could taste was the vanilla from the cookies and the cinnamon -- certainly no pumpkin taste and only mildly chocolately, even though I used a quality chip (Ghiardelli, a mixture of dark and semi-sweet). Finally, the finished product is very soft. Unless you're eating them right out of the fridge, they're pretty gooey; after sitting out for half an hour, the powdered sugar coating just dissolves. I suppose you could mitigate that somewhat by rolling them in chopped nuts, but I wasn't about to go to the trouble and expense. Definitely not something I would give as a gift or serve to guests. I ended up adding enoughpumpkin and chocolate to cover the vanilla and cinnamon and make it a dip. It wasn't bad with apple slices and pretzels, but way too much work and cost to justify the end result. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I didn't add the chocolate into the recipe, and I added a little vanilla, nutmeg, and ground cloves into the mixture. I refrigerated it overnight and used the chocolate to dip the truffles in to create a more pumpkin flavored center. I also used apple juice instead of the liqueur. They turned out really good. Next time, I will probably just use pumpkin pie spice and a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cupcake Couple

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
We loved these! They have dark chocolate/ cinnamon/ coffee slight bitterness to them, so which I love. I did use my food processor to "crumb" the cookies, and I ground them fairly fine. The comments before regarding the division of the powdered sugar were very helpful. I got 48 truffles out of the recipe and let them refridgerate for several hours before serving. No complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndmidwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I used gingersnaps, walnuts, and pumpkin pie spice instead of vanilla wafers, almonds, and cinnamon. They turned out a bit too chocolately and not enough pumpkin-y for my taste, but have gotten rave reviews. (I'm not the biggest chocolate fan.) Next time I'd substitute some pumpkin for the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
These are great and they freeze really well. But I don't dust them before hand if they are going to be frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Wow! These were great! I would suggest letting these refrigerate overnight - it gets rid of the "crumb" texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyheather06

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I would say it is just me, but given the feedback I've gotten...these just aren't good. I've made them as directed, w/ Grand Marnier, & w/ orange juice. These have a granular (yes I ground everything w/ my food processor) quality that I just don't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
BEWARE!!! The powdered sugar needs to be divided up BEFORE you put it into the mixture. I almost made a huge mistake by putting too much! We made these for a progressive dinner and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States