Rich Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
I multiplied each batch of this recipe by 5 to make a whole bunch of pies for friends at Christmas. Not only is it delicious, but very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
This pie was delicious, and very rich tasting. I used 1 whole egg and 2 egg whites, to cut down on the yolk content. I liked the fact that it was not all sugar also. This is my chocolate pie recipe from now own... Thanks Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2001
I fixed this pie for a family dinner and got rave reviews. In place of the meringue, I used a whipped topping made from cream cheese, sour cream, sugar and vanilla with cool whip folded in. The combination of the 2 tastes blended wonderfully and was a nice change from meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Just like grandmas! Thx for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pammi
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I've been looking for a replication of my grandmother's chocolate pie, which was lost along with many others in a fire a few years ago. I read this and knew it was close, so I tried it. It's not the deep rich chocolate I'm looking for, but reviewing this recipe as is, it's EXCELLENT. Good, smooth chocolate flavor. I was ONLY trying the FILLING, so I just put down a few cinnamon graham crackers and put it in a casserole dish. I'll keep looking but for anyone looking for a really good chocolate meringue pie, this is it! BTW, because I LOVE meringue, I used all the whites...just reduce oven temp after a few minutes and bake longer at the reduced heat to cook them through and not burn the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pammi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
very good, just like my momma made. Thankyou for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Anderson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this the Christmas afternoon when I didn't have enough desserts. It was made for my brother-in-law. He LOVED it!!!!! I used regular white milk instead of evaporated milk and it was Fantastic!!! It will be the only Chocolate Pie I make ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
This was good, but next time I won't use so many eggs, I think 3 egg yolks would be enough. It was a little eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
The texture of the filling is great, but most chocolate pies will have at least twice the amount of sugar. My family definitely thought sugar was missing, so I probably will try making it again but will double the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
WAAYYYY TO many eggs I use 3 egg yolks and 2 whites. Unless you like it eggy tasting, don't use that many eggs. And if you use that much egg whites there will be way to much let over. Been making this pie for years and my fiance would flip if it was ever done wrong this is his favorite dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States