Rich Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
This pie was delicious, and very rich tasting. I used 1 whole egg and 2 egg whites, to cut down on the yolk content. I liked the fact that it was not all sugar also. This is my chocolate pie recipe from now own... Thanks Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
This was good, but next time I won't use so many eggs, I think 3 egg yolks would be enough. It was a little eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
I multiplied each batch of this recipe by 5 to make a whole bunch of pies for friends at Christmas. Not only is it delicious, but very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2001
I fixed this pie for a family dinner and got rave reviews. In place of the meringue, I used a whipped topping made from cream cheese, sour cream, sugar and vanilla with cool whip folded in. The combination of the 2 tastes blended wonderfully and was a nice change from meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
The taste was awful! The pie set up beautifully. I used a graham cracker crust, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Just like grandmas! Thx for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this the Christmas afternoon when I didn't have enough desserts. It was made for my brother-in-law. He LOVED it!!!!! I used regular white milk instead of evaporated milk and it was Fantastic!!! It will be the only Chocolate Pie I make ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pammi
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I've been looking for a replication of my grandmother's chocolate pie, which was lost along with many others in a fire a few years ago. I read this and knew it was close, so I tried it. It's not the deep rich chocolate I'm looking for, but reviewing this recipe as is, it's EXCELLENT. Good, smooth chocolate flavor. I was ONLY trying the FILLING, so I just put down a few cinnamon graham crackers and put it in a casserole dish. I'll keep looking but for anyone looking for a really good chocolate meringue pie, this is it! BTW, because I LOVE meringue, I used all the whites...just reduce oven temp after a few minutes and bake longer at the reduced heat to cook them through and not burn the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pammi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I followed the recipe to a tee. I made five of them. and they all were runny and inedidble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
very good, just like my momma made. Thankyou for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Anderson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States