Rich Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
WAAYYYY TO many eggs I use 3 egg yolks and 2 whites. Unless you like it eggy tasting, don't use that many eggs. And if you use that much egg whites there will be way to much let over. Been making this pie for years and my fiance would flip if it was ever done wrong this is his favorite dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
The texture of the filling is great, but most chocolate pies will have at least twice the amount of sugar. My family definitely thought sugar was missing, so I probably will try making it again but will double the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
very good, just like my momma made. Thankyou for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Anderson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I followed the recipe to a tee. I made five of them. and they all were runny and inedidble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pammi
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I've been looking for a replication of my grandmother's chocolate pie, which was lost along with many others in a fire a few years ago. I read this and knew it was close, so I tried it. It's not the deep rich chocolate I'm looking for, but reviewing this recipe as is, it's EXCELLENT. Good, smooth chocolate flavor. I was ONLY trying the FILLING, so I just put down a few cinnamon graham crackers and put it in a casserole dish. I'll keep looking but for anyone looking for a really good chocolate meringue pie, this is it! BTW, because I LOVE meringue, I used all the whites...just reduce oven temp after a few minutes and bake longer at the reduced heat to cook them through and not burn the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pammi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this the Christmas afternoon when I didn't have enough desserts. It was made for my brother-in-law. He LOVED it!!!!! I used regular white milk instead of evaporated milk and it was Fantastic!!! It will be the only Chocolate Pie I make ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Just like grandmas! Thx for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
The taste was awful! The pie set up beautifully. I used a graham cracker crust, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2001
I fixed this pie for a family dinner and got rave reviews. In place of the meringue, I used a whipped topping made from cream cheese, sour cream, sugar and vanilla with cool whip folded in. The combination of the 2 tastes blended wonderfully and was a nice change from meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
I multiplied each batch of this recipe by 5 to make a whole bunch of pies for friends at Christmas. Not only is it delicious, but very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States