Rich Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
The best frosting ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TVCHICK
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is the perfect chocolate frosting. I have used it to top several cake & cupcake recipes, including "David's Yellow Cake" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is my go to recipe for chocolate frosting. I always cut the recipe in 1/2 just due to not needing that much frosting. I read a review that gave 4 stars just because they halved it. LOL!! Are you kidding me? Another gave it 3 stars because their cocoa powder was gritty. Is that the recipes issue? Nope. Get better cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldielocs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plover, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Just made this tonight, and it is sooo good! Very chocolatey, smooth, and so decadent. It was really easy to make and tastes amazing. I will never buy chocolate frosting from the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is very good for spreading and okay for piping-a little too soft to really hold the piping design-but the flavor is great. My kids thought it was the best frosting for our dark chocolate cupcakes. I scaled it to half and it easily covered 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by floridascrubtech
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This Frosting Is WonderFul, It Does Make Alot, I Use It To Frost A 9x13 Double Layered Cake, And It Is Plenty, With Some Left Over ( And Me Eating It While Mixing). You Will Not Go Wrong With Cake, And The Chocolate Frosting Recipe. It Will Give You That Chocolate Fix You Are Craving, I Guarantee Yah!!! Thank You From Florida.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridascrubtech

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I used 7 C of confectioner's sugar. This made a good texture to the frosting, without making it sickly sweet. When I paired this frosting with the One Bowl Chocolate Cake, together the cake reminded me of a Wegman's chocolate cake. Definitely not it exactly, but reminiscent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Even though I forgot to add the vanilla extract, this frosting was still delicious! I used it to frost a 2 layer 9 inch cake (Black Magic Cake, from this site) and a boxed yellow cake in a bundt pan; it came out fantastic. I used all of the milk and it was an easily spreadable consistency. I had no problems with a crust forming and followed the recipe. I made 3/4 of the recipe and had plenty remaining. Perfect excuse to make more baked goodies to use this wonderful frosting up! Thanks for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This recipe tastes just like Duncan Hines Fudge Chocolate Frosting. I have a hard time convincing people I made it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
By far the easiest and best chocolate frosting! And it makes a huge batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poki07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 961) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States