Rich Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
To this recipe, I added an extra egg, 1.5 tsp baking powder (it needs to rise somehow!) and a little extra liquid - a touch of milk, a touch of water. It did rise, though it is a little bland; mind you, if you frost it, it will be yummy - what isn't? Good basic cake, especially if you have limited ingredients and feel comfortable tweaking it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
There's something missing to this - it's flat. I should have read the other reviewer's notes prior to baking. What a loss of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
I tried this cake and don't know if I did something wrong or not, but it's flat. It didn't raise at all.I'm just wondering if there should be baking powder or soda in it to help it to raise. It did seem like something might be missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
DON"T TRY THIS CAKE!!!! IT'S FLAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I was curious about the low ratings... I can't see why anyone would even attempt to even make this recipe. it does not have the correct ingredients even for a decent chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Don't try this cake , it came out horriable !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Although the dough was more like brownie batter... I just added water until it was smooth and then proceeded to add 1 tsp of baking powder. My cake rose and tasted rich and yummy! I frosted it. frosting solves ANYTHING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRUNYAN1
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I don't recommend this recipe. I should have read the reviews before mixing as well. I made the batter and doubled up each ingredient because there didn't seem to be enough, and i put them into cupcake molds because I don't have a 9x9 cake pan. Then i read the reviews, and i agree that baking powder was missing. so with the remaining batter I tossed in some vanilla, a few pinches of baking powder, more flour, more milk and some brown sugar. Then i treated them like cookies. the "cookies" are better than the above attempt, but still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Make at your own risk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninakiggans
Home Town: Parris Island, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I wish I would have read the reviews! This cake was flat & bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States