Rich Chocolate Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I used 3 eggs and no baking powder. THE BEST. JUST WONDERFUL!!! MOIST! The frosting makes these brownies. Be sure to make a double batch in a 13x9" pan because they will be gone! (5 eggs, no baking powder for a double batch)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babyjaimie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This really is the perfect brownie recipe that I have been searching for. It is easy, and not too gooey or too cakey - just the right texture. The cocoa powder does make this brownie taste so much better than others that use the baking squares. I also made the frosting for this recipe, and it is also very, very good! I don't have any reason to ever use any other brownie recipe again - this one is a keeper for my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
If you like things really, really sweet this is the recipe for you. This frosting totally overwhelms the brownie it is so sweet. I like the brownie recipe - things that we have in the pantry - next time I will just sprinkle milk chocolate chips on top to melt or even mint chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I have made this recipe again and again. I followed the tip from babyjaimie and used 5 eggs and no baking powder for a double batch. I also drizzled caramel sundae topping over top of the batter and swirled in before baking. I ice it with a vanilla bean butter icing and I have to tell you....they are out of this world. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This was sooooo good! I added a little cinnamon to the batter. The frosting has very good flavor but VERY rich, next time I"ll cut back on the cocoa powder and powdered sugar a bit. Also,frosting topped with pecans broke up some of the richness and added a nice bit of crunch. Definately a keeper along with a Tall glass of cold milk~Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
These were the best brownies I think I have ever had (that is saying A LOT). I made them for my husband's birthday. He requested them again a week later, and has asked for them again today (about another week later). Delicious. Freaking Delicious. The frosting is the best part -- though I did replace the coffee stuff with vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Wonderful!!! The only change I made was adding vanilla instead of the coffee. It uses staple ingredients, so no special trip to the grocery store required. Tastes just like the ones my Mom used to make. Make a double batch, they'll go quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I don't know what I did wrong.... Everyone else says they're perfect and mine....well, they seperated. The top is entirely liquid butter, it was boiling. I called a few people and they said it shouldn't boil. I've only made brownies once before, and it was from a box, and they didn't work either. But these....I hope when they cool down they'll be okay, but I think i might have to pour the butter off the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Very good! Very easy to make! My whole family LOVED them! We didn't use the coffee in the frosting. If you like a very good chocolatey treat every once in a while try this!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I too like brownies using cocoa powder; I prefer the taste over ones with unsweetened chocolate. These are great, moist and they taste just right, not too sweet, not too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States