Rich Chocolate Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
5 STARS X 10!!! OUTSTANDING brownie recipe! I will make this again and again! I love how the edges didnt turn into concrete and the rest is moist and rich and just plain old yummy. I doubled the recipe to fit a 9x13 pan and scaled back the sugar by 1/3 of a cup. SUPER, have hidden these from my fiancee :-) ****UPDATE:made these again, and again yummy! I didnt make the frosting recipe...instead I mealted a half a bag of semi sweet chocolate chips with a can of fudge frosting and spread thinly over the brownies (I quadrupled the recipe for a potluck). Theyre great like this, I love the original version as well...if youre looking fo ra chocolate fix. youve found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeeziebrb

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This the best recipe ever! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I made them for my family and they absolutly adored them! I made them for fathers day and he liked them even more then the boxed kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mle4497

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
The recipe was easy but I received mixed reviews. The BF thought they were too sweet, my father loved them. I didn't like the texture. I'm still searching for the perfect brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These were just okay brownies. I didnt love or hate them. The brownie is almost not sweet enough and the frosting is just too sweet, you would think it would cancel each other out and be ok, but sadly no. Consistency is great though, not too chewy or cake like, a good in between choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
On the advice of other reviews I immediately made a double batch in a 13 x 9 pan for the first time making these brownies. Now, I don't think I have ever tasted anything as sweet and "chocolatey" as this recipe...I doubled everything in this recipe both for the brownie and frosting. The brownies came out moist; I did use baking powder and eggs even though other reviewers found that using 5 eggs and no baking powder worked; I like my brownies "tall" in the pan. It cooked for about 35 minutes in a glass pan. The frosting is more like a really chocolate glaze. The consistency is not quite like frosting, but does kind of get "candied" as it sits in the bowl. I did not place the frosting in the fridge while the brownies cooled as I usually do with other frosting as I thought it may crystallize. I poured the frosting over the brownies when they were still a bit warm....I did one of those, "holy that's a lot of chocolate" took another bite and decided that I really liked it. I could have cut back on the cocoa powder in the frosting; so if you double it, I would add more powdered sugar and maybe cut the cocoa to 4 or 5 tablespoons (when doubled). I also brewed coffee and poured that in rather than warm water and instant coffee; that may have given it a bit more "kick" I will definitely make these again, but tweak them just a bit...any die hard chocolate fan will be in Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Standish, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Instead of the frosting in the recipe, I sprinkled about 1 cup of Andes Creme de Menthe chips on top right after taking it out of the oven and then spread it around after the chips melted. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is an excellent recipe for super rich, fudgy, chocolatey brownies. The taste and texture are very good. I did not change any ingredients in the brownies, but I did double the recipe to make a larger pan. After tasting the brownies, I decided not to add the frosting - they are very sweet and rich and it just seemed like it might be too much yumminess all at once for me today :-)..... I may try to play with it when I have time... maybe reduce the butter and sugar a bit, and then try with the frosting.... we'll see. But if you need a quick and delicious chocolate fix, this will definitely do the trick! Thanks for a yummy recipe. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This recipe is FANTASTIC! I would definitely recommended this brownie recipe to any one! This is the recipe I have been looking for, YUMMY. Thank you sooo much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Bug Rach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States