Rich Chocolate Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
this will be my "go to" brownie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc's Wife 07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong, but these things would not cook through for me. They came out gooey even after extra time in the oven. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*Morgan*~
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I was quite impressed with this recipe I only had one egg so I subbed the other with 1/4 cup applesauce and they came out perfectly. nice and fudgy. I didn't even add the frosting, just a few sprinkles of mini choc. chips. Then we had brownie a la modes!!! oh yes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Morgan*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Fairfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Portales, New Mexico, USA
Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Super yummy brownies! I made a few alterations. I tripled it and added no baking powder as another reviewer had suggested. Then, I added a handful of chocolate chunks into the batter. For the frosting, I did not have instant coffee but I did have freshly made coffee which I subsituted. Also, finished I realized the recipe (tripled) called for 4 1/2 cups of powdered sugar, I only had 2! Two cups was sufficent! So, I would recommend possibly cutting the sugar by half. Save some calories so you can eat another brownie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Very good. Nice texture & great taste. Made it as written. Would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
the best! i used peppermint essence in place of coffee and vanilla, cos its just what we like in our household. awesome recipe that will be used over and over again. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sera

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I do catering for weddings and this is definately the best recipe ever! Nobody ever leaves a crumb and I always have requests for more. I have changed the recipe slightly, by adding another quarter cup of flour and another quarter teaspoon of baking powder. It just helps the brownies to lift a bit more, without loosing any of the taste or texture. Definately worth baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
These were good. This recipe has a lot of potential. I only had double yolk eggs, but still used two anyway. Perfect moistness. I used half white sugar and half brown - but next time I will increase the sugar by 1/3 cup because these weren't sweet enough (I only served them with a sprinkling of icing sugar). Definitely double the recipe because they could do with being a bit thicker. I did add the baking powder as I wanted them to rise. These cooked in about 20 minutes, so make sure you check the batch. We like brownies without icing, so next time we would increase the sugar in the batch. Thanks for the recipe and I will try again and update. Made these again about two days later and upped the cocoa to 1 cup, 5 eggs (I only had double yolk eggs so nice and moist, 3 cups of sugar - half brown, half white, left everything thing else the same. I found these actually had the flaky top after they cooled. They tasted better after about 4 - 5 hours, than warm out of the oven. When cool, they seem to contract and the top crackles and the middles get all squidgey. When they're warm and heated, they rise and expand, and are kind of cakey (in a good way). They were five star worthy with this moderation and I will continue to use this recipe as I've never seen them go so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
My husband loved these. I thought they were okay. I left off the icing, so that might have a bit to do with it. I'm still looking for a brownie recipe that turns out like the box--moist and chewy, with the flakiness on top. This recipe comes close, as it has the moist and chewy bit down. I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
The icing on this brownie makes it worth 5 stars! I used french vanilla instant coffee instead of regular instant coffee. It doesn't give it a coffee taste but instead it enchances the cocoa flavor. I also followed others who suggested substituting an extra egg instead of the baking powder. I also used half white sugar and half brown sugar. That really made the brownie rich and decadent. I doubled the recipe and cooked in a 13 x 9 inch pan. It made appx. 24 brownies. I sent half with my husband to work. Everyone in his office has a big smile on their faces this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frannie916

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States