Rich Chocolate Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
5 stars with frosting,3.5 without.Using a glass 9x13,I doubled the recipe pretty much except 3 eggs,not 4 & increased vanilla to 1 1/2t.Oh,less sugar: 1 3/4c for double recipe. Mine was done by 25 minutes.These didn't come out too gooey (although it wouldn't be me to make a complaint over that! :D) or too cakelike. They're more fudgy than cakelike for sure. I'm not a fan of cakelike brownies - hence,one less egg.If I wanted cake,I'd go for a cake recipe. :o :) 'Might like them a little taller.They're about a half inch,but that's not a flaw.It's more something that may improve clean cutting.For the frosting, used hot coffee instead of water - still added the instant.I accidentally (as in "oh, there's more confectionary sugar in the cup!" after I'd frosted) reduced sugar to 1 1/4c. Very thick, added 1T milk.It's a not-firm, but stays-in-place-once-on the brownies frosting,nice & shiny.'Didn't double the frosting, but did add a pinch of salt to it.Stays shiny, but not hard.It "gives" a little when you bite,forming very slight crinkles.Yummy,I say.'Might need some vanilla in the frosting - just cause I'm a vanilla freak.I'll add all the sugar next time, too.One more comment,using a flat spatula(looks like a pie server but flat & has a straight edge, not pie shape),this cuts beautifully.I mean gorgeous - like those photos where the frosting doesn't spread into the cake.(I secretly think they make those individually.No one could bake or cut a cake so perfectly as shown!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Very good brownies! I made them gluten-free with millet flour, and cut the sugar in half. They were very rich and tasted like fudge. I imagine that they might have had a chewier texture if I'd used the whole amount of sugar, but we loved them as they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Was looking for a recipe like the one that I used in high school that was on the can of Ghirardelli ground chocolate and cocoa powder that used melted butter, and this one works well for me. I don't like to frost my brownies (frosted brownies are a little TOO sweet IMO) but I *do* like to add a handful of chocolate chips and a bit of grated orange zest to the batter ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
These are the best brownies I have ever had. I cut down the cooking time to about 20-22 minutes and they come out a bit gooey (which I love).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Well this is now my husband's favorite! We live overseas and there are a lot of things we can't get here, but we can get all these ingredients and he's requested a batch about every other week since I first made them a couple months ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Very good recipe but I add 1/4 up oil and 1/4 cup more chocolate. Makes them much more moist and chocolatey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I just made these for the kids ... YUM! May not be any left for them! ;) I prefer frosting on my brownies but we tried these before I got them frosted ... they don't even need it. DELICIOUS! Rich in chocolate flavour, soft and moist in the middle. I baked them in a stoneware pan that was a little larger then the recommended size so next time I'm going to double up the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Best brownies I've ever had! Rich, fudgy, but still light with a great chocolate flavor throughout! I followed the recipe exactly, except I don't like my brownies with frosting usually- so, I added a handful of semi-sweet chocolate chips on top before baking ('cause I'm a chocoholic!). Will definitely save this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
These are nearly identical to “Best Brownies” from this site. In fact, with the addition of another ½ tsp. of vanilla, these ARE identical to “Best Brownies.” It’s no wonder I liked them then, but they could use a little more cocoa powder, another tablespoon maybe. After I had already cut the brownies I realized I had intended to frost them! So, rather than making the frosting as directed, I just whipped up a quick buttercream by not melting the butter and eliminating the coffee. I was then able to pipe the frosting onto the cupcakes individually. A very respectable brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Followed the suggestions of other reviews, used 3 eggs and no baking powder. Also used 1/2 tsp vanilla in the frosting instead of coffee. These were fantastic! An easy way to make brownies from scratch without having to melt chocolate. My oven cooked them in 25 minutes and next time I might check at around 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States