Rich Caramel Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I was VERY disappointed in this recipe. The caramel candy did not mix very well with the margarine, after cooking the 2 cups of cake mix for 15 minutes, it was still soggy in the middle, but I wasn't sure if it was supposed to be or not, so I added the caramel mixture and the rest of the cake mix...45 minutes later, I had a gooey mess. The sides of the cake were done, the middle was like pudding. I will never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Pretty good. Definately need a tall glass of milk for this one. Had rave reviews from hubby's co-workers. Very easy to make. Hardest part had to be unwrapping the caramels. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I was indead pressed for time when I made this recipe, and aside from unwrapping the caramels, the cake came together very quickly. I didn't even have time to frost it, but it was a smashing success! The only thing I did was add only 24 caramels as that's all I had on hand. Scrumptious! Everyone is asking for the recipe! BTW, if you are rushed, don't make the filling until you put the first half of the cake in the oven for 15 min. Then you'll have time to unwrap and melt the caramels...I did it in the microwave. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Awesomely gooey! I have made this several times, and it always get rave reviews. I skip the nuts though & frost with chocolate or caramel frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I've made this cake several times and it is amazing. It is very sweet, but lets face it, what do you expect from chocolate and caramel? Everyone has loved this cake and I've had several requests for it at get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Very sticky preperation. Great with red sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
Very, very good. I've made is several times and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VBSPENCER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This is a very rich cake, a small piece will suffice. The flavor was good and I had no complaints from anyone at my party. I did not give it five stars, because it was a little sweet. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
This cake was easy to make, looked great and tasted fabulous; even without the nuts. I frosted it with a thin layer of chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srmacey29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
It you love "turtle" candy you will love this cake. The recipe is quick and easy but the results look like you've worked for hours. I took it to work and everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States