Rice with Herbes de Provence Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I couldn't agree more with other reviewers who suggested this is perfect as is, although I just simply added a dab of butter. Hubby and I really enjoyed this pleasant and delicately herb-enhanced variation of simple white rice. Note: As I was cleaning up the kitchen after dinner, I was going to throw the little that was left down the disposal. Hubs stopped me in my tracks and told me not to, even tho' there wasn't even enough for another meal! That spoke volumes to me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This was such a good idea! I substituted 1/2 t. each of Basil, Rosemary, Thyme and Marjoram because that's what I had on hand. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Easy & tasty rice dish. Instead of herbes de Provence, I used sage, thyme, basil, & rosemary. I threw it all into my rice cooker and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
after this was cooked i added 1 cup parmesan cheese and some sauteed shallots and diced garlic... really really good. excellent recipe and i didn't feel the chicken stock or the herbs were overpowering... depends on personal preferences i guess. i like flavorful rice dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Good flavor. Easily made vegan with vegetable bouillon and it was pretty good. Next time I'll be trying it with different spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSchritter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was a good, quick side dish & a nice change from plain old steamed rice. Since my jasmine rice calls for 1 1/2 cups water for every cup of rice, I used that same proportion of chicken broth instead of the 2 cups called for. It was perfect. Very flavorful & went well with our Garlic Chicken dinner. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
We weren't big fans of this dish. I found that the flavour of the chicken broth really over-powered the delicate flavour of the herbs. I might try this again using vegetable broth - or even half chicken broth and half water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Delicious. Do not change anything with this recipe. This is a perfect side dish with our chicken dinner tonight. Thank you for a wonderful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Omigosh, this stuff is awesome! I am soooo addicted. I have been waiting for quite some time to try this, and I finally did, it is simply wonderful I didn't have any regular rice, so I used Jasmine instead. It was a little too much liquid for the jasmine variety of rice so it was a little overcooked, but absolutely delicious. Jennifer, I can't thank you enough for this new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Added 1tsp Better Than Bouillon (chicken flavor), a couple of splashes of chardonnay, and a small pat of butter. Thanks for the great recipe, Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States