Rice with Goodies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
omitted water, and used liquid from canned veggies toward the rice instructions. Substituted andouille sausage for bacon. Omitted carrot, mushroom, almonds, and raisins 1 Granny Smith apple - peeled, cored and diced 1 cup cooked, chopped turkey meat 1 teaspoon chicken soup base 3 tablespoons soy sauce 1/2 cup chopped parsley Used andouille sausage - place in saucepan with the veggies in the beginning to cook. Bring the sausage to a boil with the veggies and rice, then simmer until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
My mom declared this to be one of her favorite meals after I made it this afternoon! To make it a little healthier, I substituted brown rice for the white and omitted the bacon. I did use leftover Christmas turkey for this. I'll definitely be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I would have give it a five, but my son didn't like it at all because of the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOODLESTEACHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
My picky husband loved this. I omitted the turkey as I was useing it for a side dish. It would be great with the turkey or other meat for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I really enjoyed this. The whole family did. It has all of our favorite things in one! I don't see how this could possibly feed 12 as it fed 5 with a little leftover and I doubled the veggies and fruit. I didn't add mushrooms, and added 1/4 stock I had leftover from the turkey plus coconut. That added a nice flavor. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Yumm, this is fantastic! I love 'rice 'n stuff' and this is the best one I've made. Really filling and complex in flavour. Made a few substitutions and changes but it's basically the same thing. Used whole grain rice instead of white, sweet corns instead of peas, mixed seeds instead of the almonds, turkey ham instead of the turkey. The ratios suggested by the recipe work out really well. I'll be eating this for lunch the whole week at work, and I bet I won't get sick of it. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Very good recipe ... of course, like most cooks, I modified to suit my tastes and food on hand ... first I scaled it down to feed 4. I used 4 slices of bacon ... chopped 1/2 of a huge onion, 1 stalk of celery, 1 carrot, 8 oz of fresh mushrooms ... cooked; those to soften in the bacon grease ... added the shredded turkey ... then added the almonds, I also added pine nuts and substituted dried cherries for the raisins ... I didn't let those cook long because we wanted the crunch ... I added a few TBSP's of crushed red pepper flakes for some heat, added the rice and about 1/4 cup of soy sauce to give it some more flavor ... sprinkled fresh chopped cilantro just before serving ... fantastic alternative to fried rice with lots of nice flavor surprises in it ... I think I may add some shrimp next time ... we will be eating this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Delicious, but it does take some prep work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tsarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Laurens, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This is excellent! I did make changes as I don't have nor care for some of the ingredients. I don't like mushrooms so they weren't included I was out of any kind of nuts, out of fresh celery and carrots as well I would have liked to include them. I used green pepper instead of onion. I seasoned with garlic powder, Onion powder and celery salt. I put the apples in with the turkey to keep it from being mushy. This is goooood food! I really enjoy it, I wonder if my husband would like it too.. he's real picky so I try this when he's not home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
My husband had 3rds when I cooked this last night and asked for it in his lunch today! I loved the flavor the raisins added! I did add some thyme and basil for some flavor. I am definitely keeping this recipe for leftover turkey or chicken and am going to share it with my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States