Rice with Goodies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Great Recipe! Even my very picky husband and kids ate it. I think it needs more meat to be a main dish. I doubled the turkey, I think next time I might even triple it. I left out the mushrooms, and bacon. I also used instant rice. (2 Cups dry) But this dish has lots of great flavors. Great alternative to fried rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Fantastic! I didn't have turkey so I omitted it. But I did use Crasins, which were really good. A great base to just throw in your favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This is excellent! I did make changes as I don't have nor care for some of the ingredients. I don't like mushrooms so they weren't included I was out of any kind of nuts, out of fresh celery and carrots as well I would have liked to include them. I used green pepper instead of onion. I seasoned with garlic powder, Onion powder and celery salt. I put the apples in with the turkey to keep it from being mushy. This is goooood food! I really enjoy it, I wonder if my husband would like it too.. he's real picky so I try this when he's not home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I cooked the turkey that was taking up so much space in my freezer, but my family got pretty sick of leftovers when the gravy ran out. Dinner tonight HAD to contain turkey but I was longing for something different. This recipe is REALLY different and all of us loved it. It was such a nice break from the standard casserole recipes for leftover turkey. I didn't have peas so I left them out and I substituted walnuts for almonds (because that is what I had). After eating it this time, I think I will add pineapple another time. I am always trying to increase my family's fiber intake and I was thrilled to see the numbers. By using pre-cooked bacon, there was also no added fat. The ideas are endless and I was plesantly surprised by this recipe. Healthy and yummy! Thanks Doreen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This was an excellent way to use my leftover turkey. I did 2 minor substitutions to use what I had for ingredients on hand. I used pecans and cilantro instead of almonds and parsley. The raisins add such a surprising dimension to the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I didn't expect to like this so much! My husband, children and parents all loved it. I did make a few changes, as follows: used a brown & wild rice mix which added to the "rice cooking" time in step one; left out mushrooms and peas; used chicken instead of turkey; doubled everything except the chicken I tripled; subbed pine nuts for the almonds and fuji apple for the granny smith. It was and pretty with a good mix of flavors, colors and textures. Maybe not fancy enough for company, but a great way to use up leftover poultry when you get tired of the post-Thanksgiving ritual of sandwiches, enchiladas and soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
This is a great way to use up leftovers. Turkey is not inherently very flavorful, but when you add all the "goodies" in this recipe, that white meat will be gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
What a fun recipe! While the rice was cooking, I chopped everything up lickity-split and had a balanced, delicious meal in about 40-45 minutes. It’s colorful, and has a blend of flavors that kept my family looking at their plate to see what exactly they would bite into next. Also a very strong point of this recipe is the flexibility of ingredients. If you don’t have something…OR want to add one of your favorites…OR more or less of one particular ingredient, it would all still turn out tasty. Thanks so much, Doreen, for sharing such an easy, fun and nutritious recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
My husband had 3rds when I cooked this last night and asked for it in his lunch today! I loved the flavor the raisins added! I did add some thyme and basil for some flavor. I am definitely keeping this recipe for leftover turkey or chicken and am going to share it with my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States