Rice with Goodies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I cooked the turkey that was taking up so much space in my freezer, but my family got pretty sick of leftovers when the gravy ran out. Dinner tonight HAD to contain turkey but I was longing for something different. This recipe is REALLY different and all of us loved it. It was such a nice break from the standard casserole recipes for leftover turkey. I didn't have peas so I left them out and I substituted walnuts for almonds (because that is what I had). After eating it this time, I think I will add pineapple another time. I am always trying to increase my family's fiber intake and I was thrilled to see the numbers. By using pre-cooked bacon, there was also no added fat. The ideas are endless and I was plesantly surprised by this recipe. Healthy and yummy! Thanks Doreen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Very good recipe ... of course, like most cooks, I modified to suit my tastes and food on hand ... first I scaled it down to feed 4. I used 4 slices of bacon ... chopped 1/2 of a huge onion, 1 stalk of celery, 1 carrot, 8 oz of fresh mushrooms ... cooked; those to soften in the bacon grease ... added the shredded turkey ... then added the almonds, I also added pine nuts and substituted dried cherries for the raisins ... I didn't let those cook long because we wanted the crunch ... I added a few TBSP's of crushed red pepper flakes for some heat, added the rice and about 1/4 cup of soy sauce to give it some more flavor ... sprinkled fresh chopped cilantro just before serving ... fantastic alternative to fried rice with lots of nice flavor surprises in it ... I think I may add some shrimp next time ... we will be eating this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Hi, I made this last night based on the reviews here and really I did not find it that great. The only things I had changed was I used the precooked bacon, pecans instead of almonds, and cilantro instead of parsley. My husband also didn't think it was great - it was ok but nothing special and I wouldn't make it again. It seemed a little bland. I would also suggest cooking some of the veggies first - the mushrooms take much longer - and the apples were sort of mushy by the time the mushrooms were cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I didn't expect to like this so much! My husband, children and parents all loved it. I did make a few changes, as follows: used a brown & wild rice mix which added to the "rice cooking" time in step one; left out mushrooms and peas; used chicken instead of turkey; doubled everything except the chicken I tripled; subbed pine nuts for the almonds and fuji apple for the granny smith. It was and pretty with a good mix of flavors, colors and textures. Maybe not fancy enough for company, but a great way to use up leftover poultry when you get tired of the post-Thanksgiving ritual of sandwiches, enchiladas and soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Fantastic! I didn't have turkey so I omitted it. But I did use Crasins, which were really good. A great base to just throw in your favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This was an excellent way to use my leftover turkey. I did 2 minor substitutions to use what I had for ingredients on hand. I used pecans and cilantro instead of almonds and parsley. The raisins add such a surprising dimension to the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Great Recipe! Even my very picky husband and kids ate it. I think it needs more meat to be a main dish. I doubled the turkey, I think next time I might even triple it. I left out the mushrooms, and bacon. I also used instant rice. (2 Cups dry) But this dish has lots of great flavors. Great alternative to fried rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Yumm, this is fantastic! I love 'rice 'n stuff' and this is the best one I've made. Really filling and complex in flavour. Made a few substitutions and changes but it's basically the same thing. Used whole grain rice instead of white, sweet corns instead of peas, mixed seeds instead of the almonds, turkey ham instead of the turkey. The ratios suggested by the recipe work out really well. I'll be eating this for lunch the whole week at work, and I bet I won't get sick of it. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I really enjoyed this. The whole family did. It has all of our favorite things in one! I don't see how this could possibly feed 12 as it fed 5 with a little leftover and I doubled the veggies and fruit. I didn't add mushrooms, and added 1/4 stock I had leftover from the turkey plus coconut. That added a nice flavor. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
Although I enjoyed this one, my husband and teenager did not. Could use more flavor to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States