Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This was good! I made a couple of changes. I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed because I didn't have them. Then I added cumin, oregano, parsley, salt and pepper as the spices (no garlic). I cooked basmanti rice separately and then mixed it with the bean/tomato mixture before serving. Quick, tasty, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I used diced tomatos with green chilis, 1/2 T of chopped garlic from Sams Club, 1/2 C of chopped celery, 1 carrot chopped. My wife thought it very bland and added Salsa to her bowl. I added hot sauce to mine. We will make it again. Loved reading all the comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
DEEEEEEElicious!! I used pinto beans because I didn't have any black beans and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kingsee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennebunk, Maine, USA
Living In: Gakona, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I get Instant Uncle Ben's Brown Rice for which you microwave it for 90 seconds. I add a can of Italian diced tomatoes and a can of black beans. I sometimes add zucchini. I also add dried basil and oregano. It's delicious and quick and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
i made this last night and put it into tortillas with some leftover chicken and topped it with green enchilada sauce and cheese and baked it- it tasted a lot like a mexican restaurant i used to go to in college! i did drain the beans, so i added a little bit of chicken broth to make sure the rice had enough to soak up. i will be making this again. this is a great basic recipe, and is so cheap and easy to make! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Good dish! I made several changes. I left out the tomatoes, as I don't like them. I also drained the beans, added chopped onions, fresh garlic, a pinch of chili powder. I put the mixture inside of a warm tortilla. I topped the tortilla with shredded pepper jack cheese and sour cream! It was yummy! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I liked this recipe because it is high in fiber and protein and low in fat. I made a few changes. I used brown rice because it is healthier and cooked it seperately in low sodium, fat free chicken broth. To the broth I added cumin, tumeric, garlic powder and onion salt to flavor the rice as it cooked. In another pot, I sauteed sweet onion and garlic in 1 tbs of olive oil. After veggies became translucent, I added 1 (10 oz) can of tomatoes and green chilis and 1 (15oz) can of drained black beans and heated through. After rice was cooked, I tossed the bean/tomato mixture in with the brown rice and added a splash of lime juice. As condiments, you may want to add a dollop of low fat sour cream and/or low fat cheddar cheese. Very tasty and healthy meal. Deb, Georgia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
This was a nice basic recipe. Very easy. I added chopped garlic, lots. I also only had one tomato in the house, which didn't really equal the right amount, so I added a little spaghetti sauce. We really enjoyed it with corn tortilla's and some sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I made this dish in my rice cooker and it came out very dry. I would not make this again. Thanks for the post though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
This recipe was perfect for what I needed. I did use a substitute for the stewed tomatoes. I used Hunt's diced tomatoes w/garlic,basil and oregano(which was all in one can). Then I put jamacian jerk shrimp on top and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States