Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Yum! and was sooo easy to make. I didn't have onion and used cooked rice but followed everything else to a T. Hubby and kids gobbled it up! I added some hot sauce to mine...sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This recipe is great. I didn’t mix the rice and beans, made beans separately. The only thing that I added was 1 T salsa to cut the sweetness of the stewed tomatoes. I served this with Salsa Chicken, from Faye on this site, and Lundberg Wild Blend rice (found in the organic section) with a dollop of sour cream. It was a great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was great. I did substitute garlic salt for powder, since it was what I had. Also, I made rice on the side rather than add instant. I added diced chicken breast as well, but think it would still be great without it. So healthy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Great recipe using pantry staples for me! I modified slightly by adding cumin & chili powder and Ro-Tel instead of regular canned tomoatoes to give it a little kick. I also sprinkled some cheese on top since it wasn't the most appealing in appearance!! Great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was a very yummy recipe! I added fresh chopped tomatoes to it and it was great. My kids loved it too, plus it is very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This is very easy and very good. I drained the beans, used petite diced tomatoes, used Uncle Ben's ready rice whole grain blend, and sprinkled some chili powder and cumin on it. A big "thumbs up" from my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Good, easy meal. Needed some more flavor though. We added cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Strangely sweet. Expected more spice from it. Good, but very mild. Used cooked rice and fresh garlic. Drained beans too. (Un-drained?...eww!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is a fabulous!! but felt a little dry... added salsa, a little bit of sour cream & lettuce (i don't know how many will like this)... my bf just couldn't stop eating thought.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Hmmm what to make... I'm getting low on groceries but too busy to go get some... This was good. I used the recipe as a base, as I didn't quite have the exact ingredients. I added Greek seasoning for flavor, used brown rice, and added stewed tomatoes. This filled me up, and I wasn't hungry for a long time, either -It did wonders for my low blood sugar tendency!! All those complex carbs... This is now a favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somecookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States