Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Super easy to make and tasted delicious! We altered the recipe slightly to include less onion (Hubby and I only used a quarter of an onion). & Instead of the suggested tomatoes we used Italian diced tomatoes. I also added hot sauce to my portion and we both loved it! Great source of protein and tastes delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurenandtim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Just made and ate this for the first time and loved it. Like a few others, I made it with brown rice for health benefits and found it to be an easy dish to fix. While being very filling, it was also healthy and I will definitely be making it again, especially when winter sets in as I have a feeling it will go great with corn bread and a nice roaring fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kramer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Super yummy! Like most others, I customized this a bit based on what I had in my pantry. I did drain and rinse the beans, otherwise they can have a tinny taste. I also added some zucchini and yellow squash to the tomatoes, substituted olive oil for the veggie oil, added some chili powder to give it a kick and topped with feta cheese. n Result was a healthy, filling, and delicious meat-less dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
great for kids, but very bland for adults
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Yummy! I used brown rice instead of white and added green and red peppers to the recipe. I also used olive oil and sauteed garlic instead of using vegetable oil and garlic powder. Next time i will add even more veggies to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was very fast & yummy. I added a little cumin & can corned (drained). Will do this one over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiredofsamerecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Did not enjoy this meal at all.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Great taste and easy! I added spicy Italian sausage, and minced fresh garlic in addition to powdered garlic. I also drained the beans and put in some black pepper. A little diced green pepper wouldn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Made this tonight when looking for something quick and without needing to defrost a meat. I used quick rice, cooked in broth, added to the bean/tomato mix at just before serving. I added cumin, a dash hot sauce, lime juice and chopped garlic to the bean/tomato mixture. By adding the rice last minute, I was able to cook the bean mixture longer. While it was cooking I prepared Chi Chi's Fiesta Cornbread mix, which takes around 45 minutes. The sweet, moist bread made an excellent counterpoint to the spiciness of he beans. It is also very easy to prepare by simply following the directions on the package. All family members eating it tonight said to hang onto the recipe in my box for future use, even my 2 picky teenage boys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Instead of using stewed tomatoes, I used a can of tomatoes with green chilies, added cumin and cayenne, used olive oil, added a little bit of chicken broth, and used already cooked leftover rice. Mixed the rice in after letting the sauce simmer for a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States