Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
This was OK. My husband liked it, but the rest of us in the house could do without the oregano. If I make it again I will use fresh garlic and a variety of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REGMCD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Substituted brown rice for instant, adjusted cooking time and garnished w/cilantro sauce.. we enjoyed it and will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Weston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Quick, easy, and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Very good! Not the best, but for a pregnant lady craving black beans, this did the trick! I cooked rice separately, simmered for longer than 5 minutes (with cover on) and when I checked on it, it was too liquidy for what I wanted. So I added a second can of beans and simmered for about 15-20 minutes. Very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I thought that this recipe was just ok. I used the exact measurements called for, but I could only really taste the stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
Awesome!!!!!! with a little kick.I added cooked rice instead of instant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
Bought a packet of chili seasoning and added less than 1/4 of it plus a swig of steak sauce. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
Quick and Yummy! I adopted different suggestions and made my own delicious beans. I did not add rice but cooked rice separately and served the rice with the beans on the side. For the beans, I thoughly drained and rinsed the beans to get rid of the tin taste. I used 1/2 of a very large fresh vine-riped tomato, 1/4 of a green pepper, 1/2 onion, 1 clove minced garlic. All veggies were finely chopped except for tomatoes which were bigger. I used extra virgin olive oli to saute the garlic and onion. I then added green peppers and tomatoes with salt and fresh ground pepper. I added black beans a bit of water and chopped 1 slice of ham (omit if you're vegetarian). I used basil, oregano, paprika and cayenne for flavor. I ended up adding about 1/2 cup of water. add more water if you want. I let it simmer for about 5 min. in low heat. I'm eating it right now with a bowl of rice, some sliced avocado, cheese and fresh tomatoes. Oh my god, it tastes so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Easy to prepare but we just didn't like it. Something needs to be changed but I am not quite sure what. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
This recipe was delicious and easy. We added some chopped fresh cilantro and shredded cheddar cheese for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States