Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This recipe is ok. I didn't like the tomatoes it was too much I took some out. I added grilled chicken strip red peppers and some seasonings. After you doctor it up some it's great. I think next time I'll add some brocolli in there as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Easy and SUPER YUMMY! My whole family asked for seconds! I made very slight changes based on what I had at home: I used a can of whole tomatoes instead of stewed, I just crushed them up; I had no instant rice, so I made the rice separately while sautéing the onions, tomatoes, beans, and spices (adding a heaping tsp. of cumin) - when the rice was done I just mixed it all up, then added some finely chopped cilantro on top. DELISH and will definitely add to our regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I added some corn and sauteed the beans and tomatoes in garlic, chopped onion and a little bit of the tomato juice, then threw in some cumin. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Made some Pinto Beans the other day. Bought the big ol' bag from Sam's Club. Well had 2 cups worth in fridge and went looking for a recipe on this well loved web site. So I gave this certain recipe a try. I used basmati rice instead of the white. My husband and I prefer this and also bought the big ol' bag from Sam's. I also used diced canned tomatoes, added cilantro and cumin (which is yummy) but felt it was still lacking something. After it was dished on my plate, added some dashes of cayenne pepper. We still felt it was missing something. I did read on using salt, but our intake is quite enough with all the processed foods out there. Do not need to add more if not need be. I will definitely make this again, but may make some beef kielbasa to add too it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Yum yum yum yum! Simple, fast, and cheap! This meal only cost us $5 and we had leftovers, and it was vegetarian to top it off- vegan, if you don't top with cheese- super yay!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
added some toasted orzo & used fresh chopped garlic and diced tomatoes with garlic and oregano...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
very yummy. I made the following modifications: -Cooked rice separately in rice cooker -Drained and rinsed black beans -Used diced tomatoes (that's what I had) -Used fresh garlic -Added cayenne and chili powder (I think I added a bit too much.. 1/2 teaspoon of each is too much, it was very spicy. i'd try 1/4 teaspoon of each next time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
to make this a 5 star recipe you need to cook rice in vegetable broth instead of water. also, it was very dry so i doubled the rice and tripled the other ingredients. i also added FIELD ROAST vegan italian sausage. i cut it into small pieces and browned it then added it to the finished product. it got rave reviews at a recent vegan pot luck. made it again for a vegan potluck. it got rave reviews. here is my twist. 3 onions, chopped 3 tablespoons olive oil 2 - 28 ounce cans diced tomatoes 3 - 15 ounce cans (or equivalent) black beans (drained & rinsed) 2 teaspoons dried oregano 2 teaspoons garlic powder 2 C rice (white, brown, basmati, whatever your preference is!) 32 ounce vegetable broth OPTIONAL - 2 packages FIELD ROAST (my preference) Italian flavored veggie sausage 1. Cook rice in a large pot according to directions except substitute vegetable broth for water. 2. While the rice is cooking, In another pan, saute the onions in oil until translucent. Add tomatoes, beans, oregano and garlic powder. Bring to boil then lower to a simmer until rice is cooked. Once rice is cooked, add tomato-bean mixture to rice. 3. OPTIONAL - Slice sausages into 1/4 inch rounds and brown in a little olive oil or lay them out on a cookie sheet, spray with olive oil and quick broil until lightly browned and add to mixture. This recipe will make enough to fill a 2 x 10 x 14 tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I used frozen chopped onions, about 1/2 a cup. Had Hunt's diced tomatoes seasoned with basil, oregano and garlic and instead of garlic powder, I used 2 cloves of real garlic. All I had for rice was boil-in- bag, so I cut open 2 bags. Came out pretty good, if I don't say so myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Simple which is nice, but quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States