Rice-so-Nice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I've made this several times...not many recipes leave me wanting more, but this one is wonderful! However, I only use about 2 Tbsp real butter (no margarine) because using the full amount leaves a greasy taste. I also use Campbell's Beef Broth/Double Strength to give it a rich flavor. By draining the canned mushrooms, they absorb more of the beefy flavor from the broth and onion soups. By the way, use the soups full strength from the can; do not add water. Thanks for the recipe; I'm making a double recipe now to take to a church potluck tomorrow. When it finishes baking I'll refrigerate it overnight, then put it in my crockpot at church in the morning and let it heat in the kitchen until it's time to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This rice side dish was EXCELLENT. I did use chicken broth, and real mushrooms instead and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
Tasty & easy. I only used 1/4 cup of butter. I cubed the butter & scattered it on top of the rice mixture before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This recipe is great. I have found that using chicken broth instead of the beef broth also works very well, especially when serving this with chicken or pork dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I make this a lot, and it's very good. However, my husband doesn't like mushrooms so I sometimes substitute fresh green bell pepper, and it tastes delicious this way also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
Good, but needs some tweaking. It was too much butter for us! Next time I will use 1/4 cup. Also, with both french onion soup and beef broth, it was very salty. Next time I'll use low sodium boullion or dilute a bit with water to cut the salt. Otherwise, extremely easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This recipe has awesome flavor. I used low sodium beef broth to cut down on salt. Also, I think canned mushrooms are gross, so I sauteed a mixture of button, crimini, and portobello mushrooms and added those instead. Since I use brown rice and a gas stove, i just did on the stove top instead of the oven-- since brown rice takes so much longer. I am still working to perfect the texture/consistency of the rice, but the yummy flavor is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This was really good...but make sure you like the flavor of onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I have been making this recipe for a couple of years now (I thought I had a review already)...with a few changes...1/2 cup butter just seems ridiculous... I put in maybe 2 tbs, it really doesn't need all that much. Instead of mushrooms, about the last 15 mins or so I mix in a bag (or however much you like) of frozen (thawed) mixed vegetables (usually a mix of corn, green beans, carrots, peas).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This was so good and so easy! My husband does not like mushrooms, so I left them out. I'd love to make it with mushrooms just for me - I bet it would be wonderful. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMASSEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States