Rice-so-Nice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I've made this several times...not many recipes leave me wanting more, but this one is wonderful! However, I only use about 2 Tbsp real butter (no margarine) because using the full amount leaves a greasy taste. I also use Campbell's Beef Broth/Double Strength to give it a rich flavor. By draining the canned mushrooms, they absorb more of the beefy flavor from the broth and onion soups. By the way, use the soups full strength from the can; do not add water. Thanks for the recipe; I'm making a double recipe now to take to a church potluck tomorrow. When it finishes baking I'll refrigerate it overnight, then put it in my crockpot at church in the morning and let it heat in the kitchen until it's time to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Excellent. I served with a beef roast and glazed carrots. Will make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Oh so good! and prep is very easy. It takes the oven longer to heat up than it takes to pull it together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This is the best and easiest way I have ever made rice!! I don't usually have french onion soup so I just used beef broth. I also sauteed my mushrooms in garlic and the results are excellent. I now make this as a side very regularily. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
VERY yummy!!!! Definately will make again. It was such a nice change from plain white rice. I followed the directions almost exactly. (didn't use any salt or pepper, and only had canned mushrooms)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I make this a lot, and it's very good. However, my husband doesn't like mushrooms so I sometimes substitute fresh green bell pepper, and it tastes delicious this way also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Recipe was made exactly how stated. Husband could not say enough about this. My son liked it! I would make it again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I can't find french onion soup here so I sauteed two medium onions along with 1/2 cup of mushrooms in 2T olive oil. Once they were soft, I poured in 1/2C dry red wine and cooked until the liquid was gone. I added the mushroom and onions to the rice along with 21ounces of beef broth and the butter. Turned out a little mushy - but very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This recipe has awesome flavor. I used low sodium beef broth to cut down on salt. Also, I think canned mushrooms are gross, so I sauteed a mixture of button, crimini, and portobello mushrooms and added those instead. Since I use brown rice and a gas stove, i just did on the stove top instead of the oven-- since brown rice takes so much longer. I am still working to perfect the texture/consistency of the rice, but the yummy flavor is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I have to admit that I was leary of trying this recipe initially - I thought there would be too much liquid for the amount of rice...but it was perfect. I did make a couple of changes to the recipe; I used about 3/4 of minced fresh mushrooms sauteed in a little butter with a clove of garic. I also reduced the butter to 1/4 cup and the rice was good like that. Next time I make this recipe, I will try cooking it in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States