Rice and Raisin Breakfast Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2000
Absolutely delicious! After I bicycle into work, it is a great morning snack to get some health carbs into me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
This is great! I made it for Mother's Day, and she loved it. She's allergic to wheat, dairy, and eggs, so her normal breakfast is a piece of brown rice bread, and her normal Mother's Day breakfast is Cream of Rice. She was happy to have something normal and nutritious, and it's something the whole family liked, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I loved this!!!! I only used 3T of maple syrup. It did require addtional soy milk as it was kinda dry, but no big deal to add that as you cook it. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
Oooh...I had this today and it's SO good! Also added a dash of nutmeg, which was good...works well with white rice too, of course. Just a note - if the taste of soy milk bothers you (I can't stand the stuff), try rice milk, which is much milder and works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Awesome! This is easy to make, fills you up. It's a great recipe to tweak, as well. I didn't have maple syrup, so I used a combo of molasses and honey which seemed fine. I also added chopped apples and dates to the raisins to add to the fiber and fruit content. I love to take it to work to nuke up for breakfast. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Now THAT was good! My kids wanted seconds. It was easy, too. Thanks! donna :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Love it! Can't use soy milk or nuts because my husband has allergies, so I used 1% cow's milk and omitted the nuts altogether. I think I might cut back just a little bit on the maple syrup next time - 1/4 a cup was just a little too sweet for my taste. I also left out the cardamom because I just couldn't find it in the pantry!! I'm excited to have something to do with our leftover rice - which happens a lot in our house after supper (this time it happened to be short grain brown rice) and I can't wait to share it with my son in the morning for breakfast. *I also agree with one of the other reviewers - to cook brown rice (unless it's 'instant') it will take 2 cups liquid for every cup of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Excellent, Excellent breakfast. I was looking for something different that would be healthful. This is it. It was not too sweet (I cut the syrup down a little) and substantial enough for a big guy. I also used chopped walnuts which I enjoy and always have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Yippee!!! I love rice pudding, but thought I'd have to give it up now that I'm making an effort to eat healthier. This is great with the brown rice and soy milk, and I loved the added crunch of almonds. I only used about 1/2 of the syrup called for, and I did end up having to add extra liquids, too. But this was yummy!!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was really good and a nice change from the usual breakfast foods. Initally, I cooked the rice with two cups of water and a pinch of salt. I didn't have any soy milk but substituted whole milk (I needed to use it up). I substituted dried cherries for the raisins-it tasted really good with the cardamom. I also added nutmeg per another reviewer's recommendations. I will make this again. I wonder if this can be made ahead and reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States