Rice and Raisin Breakfast Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
After eating the second day it's still good but, I found it needs something, I think honey would be good in it too. I've never had rice pudding before and I have to say this was FANTASTIC!!! It's a good stick-with-you breakfast and will be a staple in my house. I have to say however that the 1 cup water to 1 cup rice ratio didn't seem to work out that well for me. I was afraid of burning the rice so I didn't cook it as long as I should have, which unfortunately resulted in some bits of hard rice. Next time I will add more water w/ the rice before adding everything else. I also didn't use raisins or cardamom just because I didn't have either. I used almonds and walnuts instead. It's an excellent dish! Thanks for sharing Jessie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Safford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
It's an awesome idea, but needed some real technical tweaking. Use short-grain if you have it; it's more starchy, and more starch = more creamy. Next, you have two options: 1) put everything together, adding at least 50% more of each liquid, and cook until it's done, at least an hour. 2) Use at least twice the amount of water, and add a pinch of salt. Only cook it for 30 minutes, drain the extra water off, put it back in the pot, cover, and let sit 10 minutes. Remove to a covered bowl. Put everything else in the pot, doubling the milk, heating gently. You might try adding a cinnamon stick in place of the ground cinnamon, and either 1 tsp of vanilla extract or a vanilla bean split open. Add the rice back in, bring only to a simmer, stirring, for about a half hour or until the milk is cooked down and the texture is rich and creamy. Otherwise, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Love it! Healthy and tasty!! Had to modify based on what I had in the house. Used brown rice syrup and long grain white rice and added some currants. Topped it with a scoop of vanilla frozen yogurt. Delish!! My teenage son loved it too! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I liked this recipe because it is dairy free. My son has food allergies so this was absolutely perfect. He liked it and he does not usually eat cooked cereal. I think I would cook the rice a little longer with twice as much water, but the rest of the dish was a perfect blend. I used coconut milk in place of the soy. That was good and reduces the sugar in the recipe. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Not as creamy as I was hoping for, but I used brown rice and just milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Oh my gosh, thank you so much for sharing this recipe! This is absolutely wonderful! I didn't have all the ingredients the recipe called for -- I used skim milk instead of soy, walnuts instead of almonds, and nutmeg instead of cardamom. Just delicious -- I can't say enough good things about this recipe. Not too sweet or rich -- it is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Yum! I was looking for some sort of rice pudding to make with my brown rice leftovers- this is tasty!!! I didn't have cardamom so made it without, and even used fake maple syrup but it tastes delicious and smells up the house with wonderful yumminess. Great crunchy almond chunks. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Stumbled upon this recipe while looking for vegetarian breakfast options. Perfect! After reading other reviews, I doubled both the water and the soy milk, and I was happy with it that way. It's not exactly a pudding consistency even then -- more like what my mom just called "rice and raisins" when I was a kid -- but it's so, so tasty and filling. I decided to reduce the cinnamon in subsequent batches and found that 1/2 tsp was plenty. Hmmm, I'm making myself hungry for it, just writing about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innkeeper Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Used leftover brown rice, 1% milk (not soy), and almonds halved and toasted in a skillet. Served over chopped apple with a little extra milk. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
A big favorite amongst the family. May have added more cinnamon to give it a richer flavor. I added about 1/3 cup of brown sugar and will add some more nutmeg. I also used some vanilla soy milk both to make it a bit creamer and to add some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Haussler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States