Rice and Raisin Breakfast Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Love it! Healthy and tasty!! Had to modify based on what I had in the house. Used brown rice syrup and long grain white rice and added some currants. Topped it with a scoop of vanilla frozen yogurt. Delish!! My teenage son loved it too! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I liked this recipe because it is dairy free. My son has food allergies so this was absolutely perfect. He liked it and he does not usually eat cooked cereal. I think I would cook the rice a little longer with twice as much water, but the rest of the dish was a perfect blend. I used coconut milk in place of the soy. That was good and reduces the sugar in the recipe. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Not as creamy as I was hoping for, but I used brown rice and just milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Oh my gosh, thank you so much for sharing this recipe! This is absolutely wonderful! I didn't have all the ingredients the recipe called for -- I used skim milk instead of soy, walnuts instead of almonds, and nutmeg instead of cardamom. Just delicious -- I can't say enough good things about this recipe. Not too sweet or rich -- it is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Yum! I was looking for some sort of rice pudding to make with my brown rice leftovers- this is tasty!!! I didn't have cardamom so made it without, and even used fake maple syrup but it tastes delicious and smells up the house with wonderful yumminess. Great crunchy almond chunks. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Stumbled upon this recipe while looking for vegetarian breakfast options. Perfect! After reading other reviews, I doubled both the water and the soy milk, and I was happy with it that way. It's not exactly a pudding consistency even then -- more like what my mom just called "rice and raisins" when I was a kid -- but it's so, so tasty and filling. I decided to reduce the cinnamon in subsequent batches and found that 1/2 tsp was plenty. Hmmm, I'm making myself hungry for it, just writing about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innkeeper Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Used leftover brown rice, 1% milk (not soy), and almonds halved and toasted in a skillet. Served over chopped apple with a little extra milk. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
A big favorite amongst the family. May have added more cinnamon to give it a richer flavor. I added about 1/3 cup of brown sugar and will add some more nutmeg. I also used some vanilla soy milk both to make it a bit creamer and to add some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Haussler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This recipe was pretty good. A few substitutions I made were I used milk instead of soy milk and I used sugar-free maple syrup. It turned out comfortingly thick and creamy and made my kitchen smell wonderful. Thanks or the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was really good and a nice change from the usual breakfast foods. Initally, I cooked the rice with two cups of water and a pinch of salt. I didn't have any soy milk but substituted whole milk (I needed to use it up). I substituted dried cherries for the raisins-it tasted really good with the cardamom. I also added nutmeg per another reviewer's recommendations. I will make this again. I wonder if this can be made ahead and reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States