Rice and Raisin Breakfast Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Wonderful and definitely warms the tummy! I used skim milk instead of soy milk and I highly recommend using REAL maple syrup. I also used toasted walnuts instead of almonds, left out the cardamom and added some nutmeg as it pairs well with cinnamon. You could easily sub dried cranberries for the raisins - a great fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I used fat free milk, dried blueberries (I'm out of raisins right now) and my homemade sugar free maple syrup. My kids thought this was GREAT. Like having rice pudding for breakfast. No leftovers. NOTE: I did not cook the almonds in with the cereal, I stirred them in right before serving so they wouldn't be soggy. I'm going to try this with Craisins tomorrow. I think this would be good using fat free evaporated milk if I were going to pass this off as a low-calorie/low sugar rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was really good. I couldn't even tell it was brown rice. I did a couple things differently based on what I had on hand (pecans instead of almonds, pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon and cardamom), but nothing that really changed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
yummy healthy recipe. Used low fat milk instead of soy and reduced amount of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lian W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This was very tasty. I used leftover rice, added more milk and cooked for 10 min. I like cardamom, but I think nutmeg would taste better in this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I've been looking for a healthy breakfast for my 10 month old that wasn't oatmeal, and this was pretty good. I agree that the water should be increased to two cups unless it is instant brown rice you are using. I made the full batch so that my husband and I could eat it as well, but it didn't go over so well with the husband. He likes raisins, but doesn't love them, and 1/2 cup raisins is a lot of raisins. He ended up leaving a pile of raisins in his bowl after breakfast was over. Next time I think I will use chopped apple and pear for most of the raisins, but I'll still throw a few in there since my son loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
i liked this and my kids did too.. second time i omitted the nuts, i liked that better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunsan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
It tasted exactly as I would expect it to taste, given the ingredients. It was pretty good. I would say that it is really similar to Oatmeal with a different texture. My 2yr old really liked it too. I would definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Yum! I made this for the kiddos and they loved it. I did add 1 tsp of vanilla extract, 1/2 cup more of milk and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg instead of cardamom as others have suggested. I also omitted the almonds since I didn't have any on hand. Great recipe will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GraceSevenfold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
After eating the second day it's still good but, I found it needs something, I think honey would be good in it too. I've never had rice pudding before and I have to say this was FANTASTIC!!! It's a good stick-with-you breakfast and will be a staple in my house. I have to say however that the 1 cup water to 1 cup rice ratio didn't seem to work out that well for me. I was afraid of burning the rice so I didn't cook it as long as I should have, which unfortunately resulted in some bits of hard rice. Next time I will add more water w/ the rice before adding everything else. I also didn't use raisins or cardamom just because I didn't have either. I used almonds and walnuts instead. It's an excellent dish! Thanks for sharing Jessie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States