Rice and Raisin Breakfast Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Mediocre is about the only way to describe this recipe. Maybe if the soy milk and syrup were left out and served as a side dish it would be better but . . . I won't make it again. I'll stick with my old fashioned recipe for rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathieMT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ulm, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I am 76 years old and have eaten this (with many variations) since I was knee-high to a gnat. There ae so many ways you can vary it, and if it doesn't come out "right" it's because you didn't cook your rice right. Just because one person doesn't like a recipe does that make it bad. Food is all according to taste. You know, some like their foods spicy hot, others don't, etc. Adjust it to your taste or miss out on a good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mena, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
5 stars We love oatmeal for breakfast and this is a outstanding change of pace. Will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chinook, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is very good, a nice change from our usual breakfast fare. I used left-over rice from the night before and low-fat milk for the soy milk. This recipe can easily be adjusted to your personal taste; a nice base to work off of. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made a lot of changes to this recipe but I really wanted to leave a review because I love the result! First, you need 2 cups of water to 1 cup of rice. After the rice was tender I added craisins instead of raisins, a pinch of NuNatural Stevia Extract, 2 cups almond milk (vanilla flavored) & 1 cup of water. I let it simmer awhile until it reduced quite a bit. I omitted the cardamom & added sliced, raw almonds when I served it. Excellent & healthy! What a great idea -thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
VERY yummy and can work with white rice as well! Hint: if you don't have real maple syrup, just add some water to brown sugar and there you go! Nutmeg also tastes very nice in this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
The kids just didn't care for this. I ended up making it twice. I don't know if it's a typo or what but 1 cup of water is not enough to cook brown rice unless you want hard little bits. Of course I didn't think about that until after I had already made it. The next time I made it with white rice as I didn't have enough brown and it was just mediocre. Definitely not anything I would go out of my way to make again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
awesome recipe! I kept with the almond idea and used almond milk instead of soy - turned out wonderfully. Thanks so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Wonderful and definitely warms the tummy! I used skim milk instead of soy milk and I highly recommend using REAL maple syrup. I also used toasted walnuts instead of almonds, left out the cardamom and added some nutmeg as it pairs well with cinnamon. You could easily sub dried cranberries for the raisins - a great fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I used fat free milk, dried blueberries (I'm out of raisins right now) and my homemade sugar free maple syrup. My kids thought this was GREAT. Like having rice pudding for breakfast. No leftovers. NOTE: I did not cook the almonds in with the cereal, I stirred them in right before serving so they wouldn't be soggy. I'm going to try this with Craisins tomorrow. I think this would be good using fat free evaporated milk if I were going to pass this off as a low-calorie/low sugar rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States