Rice and Lentil Soup in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This soup turned out well. I did make many revisions based on the fact that I live in the middle east and converted rice is not an option and green lentils can be very difficult to find. I used all red lentils and a grain called farro in place of the rice. I created my own seasoning mix similar to what would be in poultry seasoning and used fresh made chicken broth instead of water. To top the soup off and give it some color I added diced fresh tomatoes. Very hearty and perfect for a cool day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella Fanther

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Love this soup and it is an extra bonus that it can be given as a gift. So easy to throw together too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
What a hurt so good soup! I wanted to try this soup, but I had to go out for the day. So I put the ingredients into my crock pot. I did change some of the ingredients. Like I used two bouillon cubes, 2/3 cups of wild rice, 2/3 cup red lentils, 1/4 teaspoon of celery seeds (because I was out of celery), 1 (13 oz.) can of chicken breast, 1/2 cup barley, 1 (14.5 oz.) can of mecian style stewed tomatoes (crushed by hand), and 1 (4 oz.) can of diced green chili. The barley, and tomatoes came from other reviewers, and what a great added addition they were to this soup. When I was ready to eat I put a few drops of lime juice in, and my husband put lime juice and some smoke flavored chipotle tabasco sauce in his. This is a keeper! Thanks for the great lentil recipe that I was wanting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Editor's Note: The rice ingredient was changed from "instant" to "converted" at the request of the recipe submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I can't find red lentils anywhere around here! I just used more green lentils in this soup as I was told they all taste the same. I considered using split peas as other reviewers mentioned however, wanted to try and stay close to the original recipe. I was worried about using instant rice in this since it only takes 5 minutes to cook and lentils take so much longer. It was fine but I think regular rice would have worked just as well. The flavor was good but I think it would be better with the optional chicken and celery. Overall, inexpensive, easy, good flavor, and very pretty gifts in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Used half the rice but its so good. I ended up eating half the soup. I would love mushrooms in it. I skipped all optional items, wanted a plain soup. This is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
The soup turned out into an excellent texture in the end. It is wise to simmer it for 30 minutes, as the sauce thickens and becomes a soupy texture. It was a bit spicy for my mom (who is usually okay on spices) so I would consider cutting down the pepper to a 1/3 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Murrile

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made this as a present for the Holidays - I ended up doubling the amount of goods within the jar (by adding a second layer of the items) due to the fact I was using quart and not pint jars! Jars are now out of season and I didn't want to go out and search for pint jars. Looks like everyone is getting double the soup this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I've been trying out soup mixes to make for Christmas gifts- I made this one tonight and knew I'd found my winner. I used red lentils, but instead of the green ones I used split peas. Also, I added 2 Tbs. of dried chopped onion. If you don't have poultry seasoning, you can make your own (I did) using one tablespoon each of the following: sage, marjoram, rosemary, celery seed and thyme. Thank you so much for this recipe- OUTSTANDING! *UPDATE* Every time I make this, I add 1/3 c. barley and an extra cup of water to make up for the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States