Rice and Lentil Soup in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Very good. Have made twice. First time, added cooked, crumbled ground beef at end of cooking. Second time, added cooked crumbled sausage. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
My sister makes this for Christmas gifts every year, and we love the easy recipe during the busy holidays. The top three reasons I rate this recipe with 5 stars: This is a very, very easy recipe. This is a very versatile recipe. You can make the mix straight from the jar or embellish it with chicken, turkey, veggies, etc. My sister has learned it's basically 1 part lentils to 1 part rice with the appropriate spice and bouillon. Then whatever size jar you use to to hold the mix, use 4-6 containers of liquid to make the soup (depending on consistency you want). She makes little jars in the left over bouillon jars for the couples and singles in the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is going to be my mass christmas present! Made it just before making the gifts. It is simple but delicious and savory. I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I added smoked sausage and it was GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TonyCher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montague, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nadineps
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made a test batch of this before giving the mix-in-a-jar to my sons' teachers for Christmas. Very hearty and delicious! It looks so pretty in the jar, too, especially if you can find the red lentils. (If your grocery store has an Indian food section, or your town has an Indian/South Asian grocery store, you should be able to find them there as Masoor Dal. I was able to find them in an SD town of 20K.) I used regular rice. I did have to increase the ingredients by half to tightly fill a wide-mouthed pint jar. I like that the recipient only has to add water and butter to make it, and that it's ready in about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This is a delicious soup with or without the chicken! I love that I can make everything ahead except the chicken and celery (if using) and put in a mason jar and it looks lovely sitting on the shelf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I tested this on my family to see if the liked it enough for me to use as Christmas gifts to friends and family this year. They loved it and I will be giving this as a gift to lots of folks!!! I tweaked it a bit to my liking by adding 1/2 tsp thyme, 1 bay leaf, and 1/2 cup chopped carrots. I also reduced the bullion to 2 tsp since its overloaded with sodium and has msg, added 1 tsp. salt, reduced the pepper to 1/4 tsp., and increased the poultry seasoning to 2 tsp. Thanks for a fabulous recipe Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Zambarda Hoover

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sharon, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is YUMMY....HOWEVER...trust me and reduce pepper to 1/4 tsp. as 1/2 makes it too spicy and peppery after it has cooked. Also...reduce chicken bouillon to 1 Tablespoon, as it is too salty if you don't. The only thing I added was 1 T. of minced onions and 1-14 oz. can of diced tomatoes. NOW....I will give it as gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Too much pepper. Overall, taste is a little bland, even with adding optional celery and chicken. Needs more vegetables to improve on flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I am eating this soup as I write this. It is absolutely wonderful! I love it. The only thing I changed was using 1/3 barley for 1/3 cup of rice, added a little carrot and some chicken boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States