Rice and Lentil Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I increased the broth and cooked it for a little longer (used brown rice instead of white). I also added some curry powder, chili powder, and salt to give it some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Very warm and filling. No strong flavors, but still satisfying and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This was just ok, I don't think I'd make it again. I soaked the lentils for about an hour and they were fine, not hard. I added some salt as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Very good but added salt and had to cook much longer than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Meh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
A delicious healthy dish. I used brown rice instead of white rice though, so I had trouble the first time because The water ran out before it was done cooking. I tried again using twice the broth and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
A very nice recipe. If it is used as a main dish, I would add a bit more salt to your own tasting. I served it with a rather salty meat and the balance was perfect as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
really blah. needs more flavor and seasoning. I doused mine in smoky seasoned salt. If I were to make it again, i'd cut back on the onion/celery/carrot mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Really tasty. I used brown rice also, so it took almost an hour to cook. The lentils got a little mushy, but everyone who tasted it liked it. I will be making this again. Great way to eat lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by imallie
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Yes! This was a first class rice recipe, nice enough that I served it at easter dinner. I made a few small changes. As I was eating,I did notice that a tiny amount of table salt really brought out the flavor of this one. I don't know that I would add salt into the preparations, just keep it handy at the table. I prefer the taste and texture of brown rice, so I subbed that in place of the white rice. I also think that the longer cooking time needed for brown rice is appropriate for lentils. I used chicken broth rather than the veg. broth, since that is what I had on hand. Left out the celery and tomatoes, but added about 8 ounces of diced fresh mushrooms when I combined the broth/rice/barley with the other veggies. Definitely needed longer than 20 minutes, but I just kept checking it as I prepared the other dishes. I would consider serving this as a meatless meal, with a tossed salad and bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States