Rice and Lentil Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
My husband had been nagging for a while for me to make a lentil casserole like his mom used to make. I found this super easy recipe, and he loved it! fantastic hit! He even liked it better than mom's! (Sorry mom!) So yummy and easy. I just added more broth than listed... full 15oz can
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Great recipe! I made this with brown rice and it was fabulous. The brown rice made it a very hearty meal. I added a bit more salt and used HOT italian sausage and browned it thoroughly before adding the rest of the ingredients. It took a bit longer, but I am sure it added to the overall flavor of the dish. I like flavorful food and I found this one very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This is a very basic meal. Don't expect a wow of flavor but rather a warm simple, wholesome tasting meal. I halved the recipe and my 3 year old and I finished it at one sitting. I used 2 large links of mild italian turkey sausage and took the meat out of the casing. Browned the meat in a 2 quart pot, removed, and then added the onion and some chopped celery. Then soon added the broth and a splash of water, brown rice (healthier and takes just as long to cook as the lentils) and lentils. Brought to a boil, then set to low for 40 min. Added the sausage back into the mix a few minutes before the lentils were done. My son gobbled this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I made a vegetarian version of this recipe which was a hit with my family and will become one of our regular meals. Instead of water, I used vegetable stock. I also added 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, and 1 tsp Italina sesaonings. Sometimes I add spinach, mushrooms, or other veggies on hand. I've taken it as a side dish and have even made it for mom's with newborns. Thank you for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Flavorful, simple, filling, and nutritious. I'd give this 4.5 stars if I could. I needed to cook it longer than an hour and had to add a little extra liquid before the lentils were done. I think next time I make it I'll use brown rice (to more closely match the cooking time of the lentils) and extra liquid, and either bake it or use the slow cooker. I think either of those methods would be better for this type of recipe. We really liked it, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was FANTASTIC! It had a great flavor and the entire family loved it. Best of all, it is so easy to prepare. I changed this a bit according to ingredients on hand. I used chicken and sun-dried tomato sausage, omitted the bell peppers, and added more rice, lentils, and chicken broth. I used 3/4 cup each rice and lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Made the mistake of thinking it'd be okay to use brown basmati since the cooking time is so long. Well, 70 minutes on the stove and only some of the rice was fully cooked. Most was partially done, but luckily the dish was still edible. The flavor was overpowering for me, but my two companions loved it. Next time I think I'll use low-sodium broth or cut regular broth with water, and I'll serve this over rice instead of including rice in the casserole. I will make this again, though, it was really fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kxo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I was leary about this recipe because that's a lot of Italian sausage for four people in this household- we like it, just not LOTS of it. So, I upped the rice, lentils and broth and also added some barley (probably one third cup). It made it less meaty and increased the servings to probably seven or eight. I also added four cloves of garlic. The sausage I used was spicy and it added a ton of flavor. This is very hearty and delicious- definitely agree with all who call it comfort food- it has that feel for sure. Thanks for the recipe, Jill- I will make this again and again. My kids said it's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This is SO EASY to make, and really yummy. It's become one of our regular meals...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Strangely, I found this dish simultaneously bland and too salty. Also, the recipe said to use dry lentils, but I soaked mine overnight and they were still hard and undercooked; I don't know but perhaps I used the wrong type of lentils? All in all, this was a fairly hearty and filling meal but I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States