Rice and Lentil Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This is SO EASY to make, and really yummy. It's become one of our regular meals...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Soooo good! We've made this many, many times now, it is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Tastes very good, but I would cook the rice seperately and serve the mixture over it. The presentation wasn't too appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Outstanding one-dish meal. My husband LOVED it and practically licked his plate. He even packaged up the leftovers for his lunch. I used 6 Italian sausages cut up into pieces. Thank you Jill - this will become a regular meal at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Good and something I will make again. I agree with another reviewer -- next time I will cook my rice separately. My husband liked this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I made this, and decided it needed tomato for flavor because it was rather bland. The tomato didn't help. The sausage is not really a welcome addition either. Lentils didn't seem to go well with sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I made a few changes because I didn't have all the ingredients. Instead of sausage I used soy pepperoni, water intead of broth. I added everything in the pot and cooked. Well I should have cooked the rice seperately like some others have suggested. I used brown rice and it takes awhile to cook. Red lentils cook quickly so needless to say the lentils were mush and the rice was still crunchy. In the end I burned the bottom of the pot... I thought it was a huge disaster, but it ended up tasting good. Not sure if I will make it again but if I do I will cook the rice seperatly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Two words - add water. This was really good otherwise except it was bland. I think we will add some spices to the dish at the same time we add the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Great recipe! I made this with brown rice and it was fabulous. The brown rice made it a very hearty meal. I added a bit more salt and used HOT italian sausage and browned it thoroughly before adding the rest of the ingredients. It took a bit longer, but I am sure it added to the overall flavor of the dish. I like flavorful food and I found this one very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This was a nice recipe. I only had two Italian sausage links left over in the fridge so I cut those into pieces and threw that in. The meal turned out pretty good and my husband really liked it. I took another reviewers advise and added water to the pot even tho I had already used the chicken broth. I also needed to added extra seasoning to it too. If I ever did this again I'd have to omit the meat because we're trying a vegetarian diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States