Rice and Lentil Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Soooo good! We've made this many, many times now, it is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This is SO EASY to make, and really yummy. It's become one of our regular meals...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Outstanding one-dish meal. My husband LOVED it and practically licked his plate. He even packaged up the leftovers for his lunch. I used 6 Italian sausages cut up into pieces. Thank you Jill - this will become a regular meal at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Great recipe! I made this with brown rice and it was fabulous. The brown rice made it a very hearty meal. I added a bit more salt and used HOT italian sausage and browned it thoroughly before adding the rest of the ingredients. It took a bit longer, but I am sure it added to the overall flavor of the dish. I like flavorful food and I found this one very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
My husband had been nagging for a while for me to make a lentil casserole like his mom used to make. I found this super easy recipe, and he loved it! fantastic hit! He even liked it better than mom's! (Sorry mom!) So yummy and easy. I just added more broth than listed... full 15oz can
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great, quick recipe that my husband loved. I didn't have the lentils, but used barley in a pinch. Next time I'm using the lentils since I know that will be even better. I threw in some steamed veggies at the end to make a one pan kind of meal. I also used very spicy sausage which was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avondale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I made a vegetarian version of this recipe which was a hit with my family and will become one of our regular meals. Instead of water, I used vegetable stock. I also added 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, and 1 tsp Italina sesaonings. Sometimes I add spinach, mushrooms, or other veggies on hand. I've taken it as a side dish and have even made it for mom's with newborns. Thank you for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Love this dish! Used brown rice, hot Italian chicken sausage. Took 60 minutes to cook. Instructions and serving size are right on. Did not have bell peppers, added some chopped red cabbage in last 5 minutes to boost nutritional value. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
this actually tasted way better than i was expecting! my husband who doesn't like brown rice or lentils, raved over it. even my two small kids ate it up! i simmered it for a little over an hour since when i had checked it at 40 min. the lentils were still a bit crunchy, but other than that, i followed the recipe exactly. it's not the prettiest looking dish i've ever made but i found it flavorful and healthy, a great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by easycookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This meal was great! I'm trying to eat healthier and this recipe will definitely be made again. I used italian turkey sausage and brown rice. Even my husband, who never eats anything healthy, liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States