Rice and Lentil Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Great recipe! I made this with brown rice and it was fabulous. The brown rice made it a very hearty meal. I added a bit more salt and used HOT italian sausage and browned it thoroughly before adding the rest of the ingredients. It took a bit longer, but I am sure it added to the overall flavor of the dish. I like flavorful food and I found this one very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Two words - add water. This was really good otherwise except it was bland. I think we will add some spices to the dish at the same time we add the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I made a few changes because I didn't have all the ingredients. Instead of sausage I used soy pepperoni, water intead of broth. I added everything in the pot and cooked. Well I should have cooked the rice seperately like some others have suggested. I used brown rice and it takes awhile to cook. Red lentils cook quickly so needless to say the lentils were mush and the rice was still crunchy. In the end I burned the bottom of the pot... I thought it was a huge disaster, but it ended up tasting good. Not sure if I will make it again but if I do I will cook the rice seperatly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I made this, and decided it needed tomato for flavor because it was rather bland. The tomato didn't help. The sausage is not really a welcome addition either. Lentils didn't seem to go well with sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Good and something I will make again. I agree with another reviewer -- next time I will cook my rice separately. My husband liked this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Outstanding one-dish meal. My husband LOVED it and practically licked his plate. He even packaged up the leftovers for his lunch. I used 6 Italian sausages cut up into pieces. Thank you Jill - this will become a regular meal at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Tastes very good, but I would cook the rice seperately and serve the mixture over it. The presentation wasn't too appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Soooo good! We've made this many, many times now, it is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This is SO EASY to make, and really yummy. It's become one of our regular meals...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-49 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States