Rice and Lentil Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I made a vegetarian version of this recipe which was a hit with my family and will become one of our regular meals. Instead of water, I used vegetable stock. I also added 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, and 1 tsp Italina sesaonings. Sometimes I add spinach, mushrooms, or other veggies on hand. I've taken it as a side dish and have even made it for mom's with newborns. Thank you for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This was very easy to make, hearty and with a very comforting taste. My husband and my children also loved it. The kids, who always pick the green pepper and onion out of anything I make, didn't even say anything about them in this thing. They just ate them! I used a mix of long-grain and wild rice, added some herbs and paprika for a bit of extra flavor, and had to add quite a bit more water than called for, but it cooked in about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This is a very basic meal. Don't expect a wow of flavor but rather a warm simple, wholesome tasting meal. I halved the recipe and my 3 year old and I finished it at one sitting. I used 2 large links of mild italian turkey sausage and took the meat out of the casing. Browned the meat in a 2 quart pot, removed, and then added the onion and some chopped celery. Then soon added the broth and a splash of water, brown rice (healthier and takes just as long to cook as the lentils) and lentils. Brought to a boil, then set to low for 40 min. Added the sausage back into the mix a few minutes before the lentils were done. My son gobbled this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Maybe because I omitted the sausage(husband vegetarian) that it was bland to me. I followed the suggestion of other reviews and cooked the lentil seperate adding them at the end. I used green peppers, onions but added carrots and I used a par-boil rice. It was an okay dish but at the end the taste was a bit washed out to me so I seasoned it with salt, pepper, thyme and paparika. Otherwise it is a good base for a lentil and rice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thiswifebakes
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great, quick recipe that my husband loved. I didn't have the lentils, but used barley in a pinch. Next time I'm using the lentils since I know that will be even better. I threw in some steamed veggies at the end to make a one pan kind of meal. I also used very spicy sausage which was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avondale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Made the mistake of thinking it'd be okay to use brown basmati since the cooking time is so long. Well, 70 minutes on the stove and only some of the rice was fully cooked. Most was partially done, but luckily the dish was still edible. The flavor was overpowering for me, but my two companions loved it. Next time I think I'll use low-sodium broth or cut regular broth with water, and I'll serve this over rice instead of including rice in the casserole. I will make this again, though, it was really fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kxo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I had some lentils cooked & needed to find some way to use them. I searched here & came across this recipe. Because they were already cooked, I cut back to 1 cup of broth. Turned out to be better than I expected. Figure next time I can add celery, zuchini &/or okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I was really excited about the idea of this dish, but it turned out really bland. I'll eat it because I love lentils, but my husband opted for a frozen TV dinner instead. I may try making it again with some hot sauce or something. I also went through an entire carton of chicken broth and ended up cooking it for a couple hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Flavorful, simple, filling, and nutritious. I'd give this 4.5 stars if I could. I needed to cook it longer than an hour and had to add a little extra liquid before the lentils were done. I think next time I make it I'll use brown rice (to more closely match the cooking time of the lentils) and extra liquid, and either bake it or use the slow cooker. I think either of those methods would be better for this type of recipe. We really liked it, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
My husband had been nagging for a while for me to make a lentil casserole like his mom used to make. I found this super easy recipe, and he loved it! fantastic hit! He even liked it better than mom's! (Sorry mom!) So yummy and easy. I just added more broth than listed... full 15oz can
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States