Rice and Lentil Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I was very pleased and pleasantly surprised at how great this turned out. My 3 year old ate it up and the hubby liked it too. It was super easy, great for a mid-week meal. I made a couple of tweaks - I didn't have any bell peppers on hand, so I used a jalapeno. I also threw in some vermicelli, paprika, and a few other seasonings. I had to use some cauliflower and celery before it went bad, so in those went too. I think a variety of other veggies would work well with this dish too. Definitely adding this into the regular rotation. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Strangely, I found this dish simultaneously bland and too salty. Also, the recipe said to use dry lentils, but I soaked mine overnight and they were still hard and undercooked; I don't know but perhaps I used the wrong type of lentils? All in all, this was a fairly hearty and filling meal but I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
We loved it! My husband and I and our two young kids really enjoyed it. I used Johnsonville mild Italian sausage (removed from casing) and water with a chicken bouillon cube since I didn't have chicken broth. I added some extra water and used brown rice. I also used red/yellow/orange peppers since I didn't have green. Cooked for about an hour and it came out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was a very tasty dish. Simple and easy and pretty healthy for you. One tip: when you drain meat after browning it, if you rince it with water you can drain off up to half the fat. One change, I would use an entire can of chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Marshall Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Very good! I left out the sausage and used water instead of broth (just because I didn't have the time to defrost the broth). I already had onions and peppers sauteed so I just threw them in at the end. This was a super easy meal and reheated well. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Yum. Easy and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This meal was great! I'm trying to eat healthier and this recipe will definitely be made again. I used italian turkey sausage and brown rice. Even my husband, who never eats anything healthy, liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This recipe is as many say, basic and homey. But with the HOT pork sausage it is kickin! My husband and I have eaten this several times in the last few months, each time customizing it to whatever veggies we have available... We add just a little less than 1/2 c. rice, and just a little over 1/2 c. lentils. What a great way to add lentils to the diet, while still enjoying a hearty and tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
this actually tasted way better than i was expecting! my husband who doesn't like brown rice or lentils, raved over it. even my two small kids ate it up! i simmered it for a little over an hour since when i had checked it at 40 min. the lentils were still a bit crunchy, but other than that, i followed the recipe exactly. it's not the prettiest looking dish i've ever made but i found it flavorful and healthy, a great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by easycookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Love this dish! Used brown rice, hot Italian chicken sausage. Took 60 minutes to cook. Instructions and serving size are right on. Did not have bell peppers, added some chopped red cabbage in last 5 minutes to boost nutritional value. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States