Rice and Lentil Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Could not have been easier & tasty. Even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Yum!! I used brown rice, but that took longer to cook. Might pre-cook that a bit before adding. Otherwise, great flavor, so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Very yummy and wholesome meal that you can feel good about serving to your family. Only glitch was that at 40 minutes, the lentils still had a bite to them but the rice was perfectly done and the liquid was cooked out. I wasn't sure if I should add liquid to continue cooking, and the crunch wasn't too crunchy, so we ate it like that. My 5yo had two servings! The 4yo didn't care for it, but he's one that the food must be visually appealing and this wasn't so much. Only changes I made were to use a half lb of sausage instead of 1lb, and substituted celery for the bell pepper. Will definitely make again but tweak the liquid/cooking time. Oh, and bonus points for only requiring one cooking pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I doubled the chicken broth and it came out good. It needed the extra broth if you use brown rice. My family who doesn't like beans/lentils, ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
for its versatility! i added garlic, roasted red peppers, corn, and sub'ed barley for the rice. subed ham and bacon for the italian sausage too. YUM and hubby & kids approved! :) my broth is seasoned, otherwise i'd say it would be a little to plain (if using store-bought broth)... TFS this, Jill! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I was leary about this recipe because that's a lot of Italian sausage for four people in this household- we like it, just not LOTS of it. So, I upped the rice, lentils and broth and also added some barley (probably one third cup). It made it less meaty and increased the servings to probably seven or eight. I also added four cloves of garlic. The sausage I used was spicy and it added a ton of flavor. This is very hearty and delicious- definitely agree with all who call it comfort food- it has that feel for sure. Thanks for the recipe, Jill- I will make this again and again. My kids said it's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
My family loved this quick and easy and super savory dish. I had no trouble getting my 2 toddlers to eat these lentils!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was FANTASTIC! It had a great flavor and the entire family loved it. Best of all, it is so easy to prepare. I changed this a bit according to ingredients on hand. I used chicken and sun-dried tomato sausage, omitted the bell peppers, and added more rice, lentils, and chicken broth. I used 3/4 cup each rice and lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I think this was a great starting point. I added some garlic, and added the rice 10 minutes after the lentils. When there was about 15 minutes left I added a can of tomatoes, and mushrooms. I used two cans of broth and seasoned with rosemary, and italian seasoning. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I was very pleased and pleasantly surprised at how great this turned out. My 3 year old ate it up and the hubby liked it too. It was super easy, great for a mid-week meal. I made a couple of tweaks - I didn't have any bell peppers on hand, so I used a jalapeno. I also threw in some vermicelli, paprika, and a few other seasonings. I had to use some cauliflower and celery before it went bad, so in those went too. I think a variety of other veggies would work well with this dish too. Definitely adding this into the regular rotation. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States