Rice and Lentil Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Very good base recipe. With some extra veggies and seasonings it is easily a five-star recipe. The cooking time is off though. I used arborio rice which only requires 17 minutes to cook. My lentils, French Puy, need the whole 40 minutes, so next time I will add the rice after the lentils have stewed for about 20 minutes. Thank you Jill for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This is a perfect recipe for a Rice Cooker!!!! I cooked the rice and lentils together in my rice cooker w/ a pinch of cardamom. Cooked the sausage, green peppers and used mushrooms instead of onions-don't like them. Combined when rice/lentil ready....My family LOVED it!!!! This has added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
It came out way too mushy for our taste. The sausage with the rice and lentils all mushed together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarisaH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
4 stars when a dollop of sour cream added on top at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Overall a decent dish, very easy to make. The one thing I noticed is that it was too salty for me, probably from the italian sausage. Maybe next time I will try a turkey sausage or something with less salt. I used low sodium chicken broth. A good, inexpensive meal. If you do not like onions you can omit, or reduce the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCo_Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Used HOT chicken sausage and cubanelle peppers diced with some green chilis and it was absolutely THE BEST !!!!! Also doubled the lentils and brown rice which necessitated a little more broth, but at least that way had another meal out of it. We put salsa on top of it and it was really great. THANKS for a superb healthy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Tried this tonight with great reviews. My picky son even loved it. I think the key to this recipe is the sausage: picking one that's heavily seasoned/flavored is a must, otherwise the casserole will taste bland. The only thing I did differently was to use 2/3 of a pound of boudin sausage (removed the casing before cooking) because that's what I had on hand. It didn't look too appetizing, but it was filling, wonderful taste, and healthy. I like that I was able to make this in one pot, but I can see that it would look a little better if the rice was served separately, using the casserole as a topping. But either way, the best use of lentils so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
YUM!!!! I made it exactly as written (well, maybe didn't use quite as much sausage as it called for) and it turned out excellent, Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Simple ingredients and with spicy sausage, it packed a super kick on a cold night. I must have done something wrong though as my rice & lentils were mushy :/ The flavors were so good though that it was eaten anyway but I will have to make another go around on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by San Diego Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Followed Jennifer 2008 comments but added apple chicken sausage. Sauteed the onions and bell pepper first then added everything. I ran out of rice and used the lentils solo to suffice. It was a hearty meal with a fresh baked baguette ( a nice crunchy crust and soft not chewy inside). No leftovers! The preschoolers ate all of theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States