Rice and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
My family loved it... even my Mother who usually has at least one negative thing to say about what I cook. She raved over this one... no negatives! woo hoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I think I am going to try it with minced dried onions instead of the soup mix--since many people didn't care for strong taste...and it's so much cheaper and healthier than those salty packages. I am also going to use some white wine and water instead of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
My family loved this meal, but i did make a few changes. I had leftover breaded chicken, so i cut that up. I made a cup of minute rice, and set it aside. I then heated up a can of cream of mushroom soup with a can of milk. Then I added a can of mushrooms, and two cups frozen mixed vegetables. I omitted the onion soup. I put it all in a casserole dish, and topped it with pie crust, cooking it at 350 for 40 minutes. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
perfect for a beginner cook. Since so many people suggested leaving out the onion, I didn't include any during my preparation. I heated my oven at 350 degrees and baked the ingredients for about an hour. Also, I used 1lb of skinless, boneless chicken & it was definitely enough. I sprinkled shreeded cheese throughout the mix as well as italian seasoned bread crumbs. My boyfriend loved it! Super easy! I'll definitely be making this dish again soon : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mochasweetie86

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I love this recipe. So simple and easy and tastes amazing. I love using onion soup mix so this hit the spot. I always precook my rice and mix everything together, then I top it with cheese and put it under the broiler. I do use less milk since I precooked the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Millin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
My mom has made this for years and it is one of my favorite dishes. One thing to remember though, rice does absorb liquid so you may want to add milk if you notice it drying out. Since I have been making it, I pre-cook my rice then add all the other ingredients and bake it for 25 to 30 minutes just to heat everything up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA
Living In: Knightstown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Made it without onion, and t was AMAZING!I made this recipe with the onion, and it was to strong. Then I made it again for all-time sake without the onion and it was TERRIFIC!!!! it was amazing, whoever put this recipe in, deffinatly needs to lose the onion!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This was delicious! After cooking it was kind of dry so I made up some more sauce on the stove top and poured it over the casserole. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I did things a little different. I combined several of these tips from other users and made my own. i simmered about 1 lb of boneless skinless chicken tenders in a little butter with onion flakes and minced garlic. At the same time i cooked one cup of brown rice over the stove. and had some broccoli flourets in the microwave. i poured the rice in the caserole dish, chopped the cooked chicken and the steamed broccoli and spread it over the rice. i then added 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup and 1/2 cup of skim milk and spread it out evenly over the chicken. i then put shredded cheese (mild cheddar) on top of that. i cubed 3 slices of bread and spread it out over the cheese. then sprinkled some onion flakes and italian seasonings on top of everything (lightly sprinkle). I baked on 350 for 45 min. It was the best caserole i ever made and ate. the cubed bread added a little crunch. and everything just blended together perfectly. SOOOO GOOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Quick, easy and most of all quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States