Rice and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
a strong onion flavour that will knock your socks off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
If you love onion flavor (me and my husband do) then you will love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinyTurtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
I only tasted the onion soup and nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This recipe is SO OLD. It's the first one I made about 35 yrs ago for an old, old boyfriend. I would only recommend it for the novice cook, otherwise it's very bland and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I followed this recipe step by step and it definetly does not take 3 hrs. I re did it and in less than 1 hr. the rice was burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is a favourite comfort food for my family, but differs from the above recipe. Milk burns easily, so I suggest using a can of water instead & adding another can of cr of mushroom (or other cream soup). Also, place the ingredients in a casserole dish and bake at 350 for 1 hr with the lid on, and 1/2 hr with the lid off. Make other variations to suit your tastes. Adding fresh dill, garlic, fresh mushrooms and/or cheese can make all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Well, I'll never do that again. After all that waiting, stirring, adding liquid, adding spices, taste testing, and baking. It just wasn't worth the trouble. My boyfried felt bloated after one serving, but still gave it 3 stars. (He wasn't the one who had to cook it.) It tasted like baked gruel with freeze dried chicken when all was said and done. (Sorry, Kris.) Such things should only be consumed in prisons. Can't wait to scour that pan for 90 minutes. Urbanites, turn back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Yes, this is an old recipe. I don't put the chicken in it since it's too plain. I only like marinated or rotisserie chicken. This is an excellent, rice side dish. However, it is too oniony/salty. I use one Lipton Beefy Onion Soup Mix then I double the rest of the ingredients: 2 cans of 98% fat free, cream of chicken (or mushroom) soup, 2 cans (21.5 oz) 1% milk, 2 cups instant rice, and add 1/2 cup melted margarine. It only takes 45 minutes but cook 10 minutes longer if you like it a little bit crunchy on top. My whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
My mom has made this for years and it is one of my favorite dishes. One thing to remember though, rice does absorb liquid so you may want to add milk if you notice it drying out. Since I have been making it, I pre-cook my rice then add all the other ingredients and bake it for 25 to 30 minutes just to heat everything up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA
Living In: Knightstown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I learned this recipe from a friend of mine back in the 1980's, and have been loving it ever since !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States