Rice and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This recipe is great...but I think you have to alter it. I put in half the onion soup mix, but I doubles the mushroom soup, added onions, cooked the rice, and added corn and peas. I added some spice, garlic powder, pepper, and dill weed. I mixed the chicken in the recipe after it was boiled and cut up. Both my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I consider myself to be an above average cook and I could not get this to work. I thought it would be something easy to throw together and forget about. I tried this twice and both times the rice would not cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizUgalde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This is a good recipe for people who have very little experience baking/cooking but want to make something simple. I halved the recipe and it still took about 90 minutes to cook it properly. I also used brown rice and skim milk, which made it a little healthier without disrupting the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This was my first time making this recipe. I stripped leftover chicken off a whole bird that i had roasted rotisserie style. The only alteration i would make for next time would be to throw in some veggies to give it some crunch and may be half the packet of onion soup. My bird was marinated in onion and garlic for it's first cooking and still had a strong flavor. I took another reviewer's advice and precooked the rice and just heated up. Also added shredded cheddar to top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This was delicious! After cooking it was kind of dry so I made up some more sauce on the stove top and poured it over the casserole. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
1 1/2 cans of milk means using the empty soup can to measure milk with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I don't understand what it means by 1 1/2 cans of milk. Is that evaporated or condensed? Can I use normal milk? Help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is one of my best friends favorite recipe. I do everything on the stove top, It seems to dry out on me in the oven. So I do this as a one time skillet dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Easy but I'd have to say it's incomplete. I cooked at 325-350 for an hour and it was dry. So I added 1-2 cups milk on top, stirred it up and then added two cans of green beans. Like others the onion tase was strong and is so close to grren bean casserole. SO I added them. The added milk help undry it out and made the whole thing salavageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthy Witness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I think I am going to try it with minced dried onions instead of the soup mix--since many people didn't care for strong taste...and it's so much cheaper and healthier than those salty packages. I am also going to use some white wine and water instead of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States