Rice and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I did alter the recipe a bit, but it was fantastic! I used a package of Broccoli Chedder rice instead of plain white rice. I forgot, not opted out of the onions, but will probably add some minced next time. I only had to cook it for an hour and a half. My boyfriend asked for it for lunch the next day. YES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Didn't work for me. After three hours the rice was mushy but still had crunchy bits. I enjoyed the taste but this was for sure just a one time dish for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
It was an ok dish, however it would be better if it's covered instead of being uncovered. It drys out if its uncovered like the recipe says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Onyx311

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
My family loved this meal, but i did make a few changes. I had leftover breaded chicken, so i cut that up. I made a cup of minute rice, and set it aside. I then heated up a can of cream of mushroom soup with a can of milk. Then I added a can of mushrooms, and two cups frozen mixed vegetables. I omitted the onion soup. I put it all in a casserole dish, and topped it with pie crust, cooking it at 350 for 40 minutes. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I love this recipe. So simple and easy and tastes amazing. I love using onion soup mix so this hit the spot. I always precook my rice and mix everything together, then I top it with cheese and put it under the broiler. I do use less milk since I precooked the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I did things a little different. I combined several of these tips from other users and made my own. i simmered about 1 lb of boneless skinless chicken tenders in a little butter with onion flakes and minced garlic. At the same time i cooked one cup of brown rice over the stove. and had some broccoli flourets in the microwave. i poured the rice in the caserole dish, chopped the cooked chicken and the steamed broccoli and spread it over the rice. i then added 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup and 1/2 cup of skim milk and spread it out evenly over the chicken. i then put shredded cheese (mild cheddar) on top of that. i cubed 3 slices of bread and spread it out over the cheese. then sprinkled some onion flakes and italian seasonings on top of everything (lightly sprinkle). I baked on 350 for 45 min. It was the best caserole i ever made and ate. the cubed bread added a little crunch. and everything just blended together perfectly. SOOOO GOOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I read the reviews before making and changed a couple of things. I precooked the rice in a rice cooker. Mixed 1.5 cups milk + 1/2 package dry onion + 1 can condensed mushroom soup with the precooked rice. I used whole boneless skinless chicken breasts on top of the mixture and poured remaining soup over the top. Baked uncovered for 40 minutes at 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
When I read this recipe, I thought what could be bad about all of these? I read several of the reviews, I needed a "bland-ish" dish for my husband this week to help calm some reflux issues - I thought this would work. I did 1/2 wine, 1/2 milk instead of 1-1/2 cans milk; I cooked covered 1 hour at 350, then uncovered for 1/2 hour. I stirred in some cheese, I used skinless boneless chicken instead. And, I only used 1 T the onion mix. I am well beyond a novice cook, but to make something quick, with what I had on hand, and minimal effort this evening, I gave this a shot. I mixed everything very well, even brought out a wisk. I used a Le Crueset buffet casserole dish instead of the 9x13, but surface area is about the same. Parts of the rice was gooey, part was dry, chicken was fine - my 3 year old LOVED it. Rice tasted like cream of mushroom soup with a touch of onion soup with a touch of wine. No subtle flavor, just convenience factor. It wasn't bad, but as others said, perhaps with cutting down the onion MORE than 1/2 packet (I used 1 T total), maybe adding different spices, it has potential for a "I don't know what else to make for dinner, but I've got all these ingredients"-dinner. My non-picky husband suggested I don't need to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Thise dish wasn't as bad as some of the other reviews read. I just used 1/2 packet of the onion soup mix, pre-cooked the rice, and then mixed it all together. I would put a layer of rice and then a layer of cheeses. After that was done, I put my chicken breast on top (with spices that I normally use on chicken) and cooked it for 30 minutes. Turned out great! No use for the extra water or milk if rice is pre-cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
perfect for a beginner cook. Since so many people suggested leaving out the onion, I didn't include any during my preparation. I heated my oven at 350 degrees and baked the ingredients for about an hour. Also, I used 1lb of skinless, boneless chicken & it was definitely enough. I sprinkled shreeded cheese throughout the mix as well as italian seasoned bread crumbs. My boyfriend loved it! Super easy! I'll definitely be making this dish again soon : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mochasweetie86

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States