Rice With Olives And Green Chile Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
I've made this recipe many times. It's one of my favorites! I add a can of Rotele Tomatoes with Chilis-it's the perfect addition. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
I have been making a variation of this dish for years. Don't use olives, but do mix in garlic powder and either chili poder or caun seasoning into sour cream. I think it turns out better if you mix the rice into the sour cream, with about half the cheese, before turning it into the casserole dish. Then top with the remainder of the cheese. Great way to use up leftover rice or a terrific pot luck dish when doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Excellant with some cumin and a little chili pwd with the rotel and I use black and green olives. adds a little zap to it. I agree with add sour cream to rice prior to baking and use a little more to keep moist and top with colby longhorn cheese. almost spanish rice with tomatoe juice. I brown the rice as well before cooking. much more flavor and a little nut flavor adds to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This is a really nice dish! The green chiles add a little spice and it's a rich filling side, perfect with grilled pork!! Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Needs something, hubby loved it. Kids hated it. I don't think i will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I reduced the cheese in this recipe from 2.5 cups to 2 cups (fat free cheese) and still, the only thing I could taste in this dish was cheese. It was edible, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Easy to make, but pretty bland. The kids did not like this, so I guess I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was REALLY good but I only gave 4 stars because it's not exactly healthy! I doubled the rice (and water), le ft out the olives because 2 of my 3 kids won't eat them, added some extra cheese because of the extra rice. Did NOT double the sour cream, 16 oz seemed like plenty. I confess I did not measure the cheese but probably used abt 3 cups in all. Finally, I divided the rice mixture , (did not do it in layers) and added taco-seasoned ground beef to 1/2, in 1 dish, for the carnivores, and added black beans to the other 1/2, with a little creole seasoning, for me and my youngest who doesn't like meat. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
It had a great flavor combination, but was a little dry. It still tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
too spicy for my kids but my husband loved it. Very "changeable". I added beans for a full veggie protein kick as well as the green onions and used a little extra sour cream. I think I might prefer cheddar instead of jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States