Rice Vinegar Basting Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I found the vinegar scent way too strong for me. I had high hopes, but didn't enjoy the final product until I sprinkled Caribbean Jerk powder on my chicken breasts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javyjones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Used chili sauce instead of tomato, upped the soy sauce a little and reduced the sugar by half. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LA ESPOSA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
My husband said this was the best BBQ Chicken he had ever made on the grill. I made the basting sauce as directed, except for reducing the sugar to 1/2 cup. Perfect! Kids loved it, too. Would be good on pork or salmon. Thanks for a great new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was very good, but very similar to 'Japanese chicken wings' from this site. Sorry, but I prefer the Japanese chicken wings recipe to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Very special recipe. Just like the chicken you get at a bbq restaurant.. Really underrated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marikka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Very Good!! We used this basting sauce on grilled chicken and it was very tasty!! As suggested by others, I too, reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and it was sweet, but not too sweet. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. This is a snap to put together and an added bonus - I had everything on hand in the pantry. I made it early in the day and just let it sit at room temperature until grilling time. The chicken came off the grill with a beautiful sheen, and it was moist and delicious. I’ll be making this one again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Not a bad sauce...way 2 sweet even for my husband who typically likes a sweet sauce...i had to cut the sauce with some hot chili sauce, that helped a little...if i were to make this again, i would cut the sugar to less 1/2 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
After reading the reviews i decided to add a tbsp of red pepper flakes to counter the overly sweet flavor that others said it had. It really did the trick and the sauce was awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metallicangel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanagan
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Love, exactly as written! One quick note: I notice a lot of ppl subbing fresh ginger for jarred or powdered in recipes - Buy a "hand" of ginger, wrap it in plastic wrap then put in a freezer bag, and use as needed. It's super easy to grate this way - just peel a small amount, grate away, then back in the freezer. Hope that helps someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Its a good sauce, alittle sweet for me..next time cut sugar to 1/2 cup..I added a little salt and tobasco for heat..I didnt have fresh ginger on hand,so I used powder ginger 1 tsp...next time I might try the sesame oil....thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sohol

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States