Rice Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I used orzo pasta (I was making some anyway for another dish--I just threw in extra especially for this dessert) and Truvia in place of the white sugar (I googled the amount and I got eight packets to equal 1/3 of a cup). I chilled my Kitchen Aid mixer and beater attachment for an hour or so before whipping the cream. As I was whipping the cream, I gradually added one packet at a time until I'd added them all. This was a wonderful dessert--the kids and I thought it was incredible. I was so tickled that I pulled it off using orzo and Truvia! I can't get over how easy it was. I think I might take one of the other reviewer's suggestions and try using chopped mandarin oranges and maybe a little unsweetened coconut in this dessert next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Very refreshing! Made as directed the first time, used leftover rice, turned out very good. Second time, I used leftover Jasmine rice, this put it over the top for us. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very nice lite dessert, especially good in the hot summer months. May try adding mandarin oranges to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
So easy and so delish! I toasted coconut flakes and added it on top. This dessert was a big hit after dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
A super easy, light dessert. My mom made this and always added mini marshmallows. It brought the flavor together nicely, for those of you looking for "something else." She called it Heavenly Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
this was a really great dessert. not too sweet, very yummy, quick and easy to make. I have 6 kids and all 6 of them raved. hubby and I prefer the orig. recipe but here are some of the variations we tried. I added some chopped coconut to the second batch and it was pretty good, the kids also asked for chopped bananas to go with the coconut. I also tried cooking the rice in coconut milk and using it that way. (That was really good too.) so we had the coconut flavor with out the coconut its self. Also we just used the directions on the bag of rice for how much water to cook the rice in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was good but it was better once I added some coconut. I'm rating it 4 stars because the recipe does not tell you how much water to use for boiling the rice and that is needed information. I decided to make rice for dinner and use 1 cup cooked rice for this recipe because rice triples when cooked. The recipe was good but was lacking something so I added some coconut and it was perfect for our tastes. Thank you Honda for sharing your recipe, we really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This was very tastey and homey, not too sweet. I had some extra cream on hand and this was the perfect recipe as to not waste the cream. My 16 year old son especially liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
I had leftover rice and whipping cream so this fit the bill. Made exactly as written. Easy to make and quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Very easy to make & delightfully light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States